What linux flavour am i looking at for setting up a NAS?

Soldato
As per title, i'm very new to linux, but i'm willing to put my back into any research and learning i need to do.

On monday i should have approx 1.6TB of hard drives arriving, 4*400gb seagate. I have a spare zombie PC set up in the loft out the way with a network card etc waiting to use these. I was planning on putting windows server2003 on it and RAID5ing them with that, or even just plain XP pro.

But i've read the arrays i make with windows have to stay, and the FS isn't "growable". Meaning if i buy more drives later down the line or i want to upgrade to RAID6 then i'm stuck, righty? This is where linux pops in, most (all?) OS's have a growable FS?

What flavour am i looking at getting for doing this? I would like to be able to log on to the NAS box remotely and manage it if i need to, and thats just about it. All it needs to do is store and be available as a network drive. I have a separate sever set to one side which will be the brains behind a network when i get everything up and running. But for this i just want it to be seen as a network drive, and anything saved to it is as if i was saving to a hard drive on my pc.

Reading around Slackware, or FreeBSD seem to be pretty good for doing this, or maybe even redhat, but being totally honest i havent the faintest. The closest ive been to linux is running clarckconnect, smoothwall, and IPcop on another PC, and i found some of that somewhat confusing! Thats only a general GUI setup!

The computer to use these drives will either be:
P4C800-e Deluxe (its sound broke so its useless for anything else)
2.8G P4C
512 DDR400

or

A7N8X (or something close to that)
XP2500 (or some old duron i have laying around)
and 512 DDR400

Am i looking at any problems facing either of these, not ability wise i know they are moooore than enough, but drivers? I haven't the foggiest how i install drivers or anything in linux :( i feel like a fish on dry land!