• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Speedstep Question

Associate
I am new to owning an Intel, and was a little confused when i saw my CPU Multiplier jumping around in CPU-z, and later found out this was Speedstep adjusting it.

Just wondering what peoples opinions on it are? Is it worth keeping on, is there much of a delay between when you need the extra Hz and when it applies it etc? And basically should i keep it on or off on an overclocked Q6600?

Cheers for any help

Soldato
I have my Q6600 @3.6ghz with speedstep disabled.

between the time you need extra mhz its a nanosecond thing, you wouldnt notice it.

i have been told when you overclock to disable it from people over at extreme systems.
as it tends to give instability when your clocking ;P

if your running stock then yes its a good idea to have it enabled + it cuts the powerusage and high electric bills :p
you wouldnt notice the speed switching its something like a nanosecond :D

if your overclocking then enable it and if you dont like it or it causes instablity then you know what to do, disable it ;)

Associate
On my board I can safely use C1E at my current overclock. Only the multi changes (6-9) probably not much of a power saving, but every little helps ;) EIST seems to have been auto dissabled by the board so its not an option for me when overclocked.

Soldato
I have my Q6600 @3.6ghz with speedstep disabled.

between the time you need extra mhz its a nanosecond thing, you wouldnt notice it.

i have been told when you overclock to disable it from people over at extreme systems.
as it tends to give instability when your clocking ;P