Windows 7 syncback 'cannot copy file access denied'

Associate
Just started to use syncback, ran a backup of my music but got an error 'Failed to copy source: Cannot move file (5): Access is denied'

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to ownership/permissions, but I compared a folder that copied fine to a folder that didn't want to copy and I can't see any difference between the two. I looked at who the owner was, both me, permissions both set to full control.

No doubt something really simple, anyone got any ideas what I've missed?

Associate
Not sure why this is doing it, but you might be able to fix it by taking ownership of the file. Although you said you were already the owner, I find that it does not always work.

Go here to download the Regedit that will add the 'Take Ownership' option. (Don't worry, it is perfectly safe; I have done it myself.)

Associate
OP
Thanks for the link, I already stumbled upon that while looking for an answer. I downloaded it and merged it, but still get the same error.
If I manually try and copy the folder to the external hdd, the windows uac box pops up asking if I'm sure I want to carry on. So from that I still don't have 100% control.

But it was only happening on a few folders, I did manually copy them to the external drive, then excluded them from future backups, it's not the way I would like to do it, but it works.

Associate
UAC is just there to ask for your permission. If you don't get it, it does not mean you have greater control over something.

Have you tried doing it in Safe Mode? Not sure if that would make any difference, but its worth a try!

Soldato
not sure what's going on there??

try giving "everyone" and "system" full permission at the root of the drive and make sure everything inherits it.

right click the drive in windows explorer, security tab, advanced, change permissions. remove everything and then add only

everyone
system