Photo and Video build

Associate
Hi,

I'm hoping for a bit of advice for my new Photo and Video editing desktop build. I'm a semi pro tog so image size in RAW is quite big and my present machine is showing its age. Also just getting into video editing. I'm not convinced I need a Quadro so will probably get a GTX 570 for graphics. I don't need the latest greatest, just a respectable system to make my image management/editing more fun to do!

How does this look?

Intel Core i5-3570K 3.40GHz (Ivybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor (77W) - Retail
Corsair Obsidian 550D Quiet Midi Tower Case - Black
Samsung 128GB SSD 830 Desktop Series SATA 6Gb/s KIT with Norton Ghost - (MZ-7PC128D/EU)
TeamGroup Elite 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C11 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (TED316G1600HC11DC)
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H Intel Z77 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard
Cooler Master Silent Pro Modular 600W '80 Plus Bronze' Power Supply

Are there cheaper cases out there which are screwless, minimal and fit SSD or should I stick with this Corsair I found in other recent threads here.

I assume I don't need a separate CPU cooler with no overclocking planned.

I've gone for the Gigabyte Z77 instead of the Z77X as I doubt I'll need SLI and to save a few pennies.

I have read one real advantage of the i7 CPU is for things like adobe premier, but provided it works reasonably fast I am not in a huge hurry. I just want a decent GUI editing experience.

I've already got 1TB SATA drives to add. I expect I'll add another SSD at some point. I reckon 8GB RAM would be enough but the price is decent on 16GB right now.

Cheers!
Carl.

Soldato
The 550D is good but there are cheaper, such as the R3 and some offerings from bit fenix.

If your not going to Oc you won't need an aftermarket cooler, no.

I doubt you'd benifit much from the i7.

Whats the point of adding another SSD? I'd just stick with this SSD as the boot drive with most of your important programs on and add big HDD for document storage.

YOUR BASKET