20 years!

Caporegime
I've been posting on OcUK for over 20 years now. I'm a little late as it was summer of 2001 I joined.

My 10 year old 10 year thread: https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/so-ive-been-posting-on-these-forums-for-10-years.18283186/

What's changed for me this time?

• I have a house (and mortgage .. groan), and two wonderful daughters :)
  • Career has changed quite dramatically. At the time of my 10 year thread I was content at my then-employer. I was summoned for jury service (see next point for more detail) and during my time on the jury, the company metaphorically fell apart and soon after went in to administration. Following this I set out to just learn (and earn) as much as I could, without committing myself to any one company. I have been much happier changing job much sooner when I am unhappy instead of sticking it out at one place, trying/hoping to fix things, shackled by a made up fear that I would struggle to find other work.
  • Jury service. In February of 2012 I was summoned for Jury duty, and was selected for a case that lasted 6 months. It was, to my complete surprise, a very exhausting and emotional experience.
    • My employer pleaded (begged, even) with me, and the courts, to dismiss me so that I could resume my duties, however the court decided I should be on the jury. This turned out to be quite catastrophic for the company (to my utter astonishment) and eventually they went into administration. I was jobless when I left jury duty. I took this opportunity to really aim high, and wonderfully it worked out. My confidence in my own abilities etc has simply rocketed since, and now I am in a position that is drastically more senior than I ever expected, commanding factors more income than I was 10 years ago, too.