2021 New Year Upgrade/Possible New Build!

Associate
Hi guys, I'm itching to bring my pc up to date and either upgrade it or start afresh so I'd love some advice please!

My current pc is an Overclockers Titan Scythe machine from 7 years ago, only changes I've made have been to upgrade the gpu first to a gtx1070 and now to a gtx1080ti which to be honest still feels very strong to me.

I'm gaming mostly stuff like World of Warcraft, with stuff like Battlefront, Battlefield, CoD, Witcher etc. as other games. I also use my pc for image editing work in Photoshop and occasional video editing. I'm using a stunning 34 inch 3440x1440 Alienware ips monitor at 120hz as the display.

A friend helped me build my first ever pc, but that was when we were kids, so I've zero experience really of putting a machine together myself, but I'm interested to maybe give it a try but also a bit scared.. I'm intrigued by the overall price point of a self-build, and I'm thinking the following...

Not fussed by Intel vs AMD, would like the highest clockspeed as I know WoW in particular benefits from that. Intel processors seem to be overclockable compared to Amd, so I'm curious what would suit me best personally? I'd like a new processor to have minimum 8 cores I think for future proofing, 10-12 I think would be ideal. I like the look of the 5800x-5900x with amd, or the 10900k I guess for Intel.

Ram I'd like to have 32gb I think to give a bit more scope for the editing side of things and minor gaming help.

GPU I'm thinking to actually stick with my 1080ti for the time being, so that could go in a new build, my dad is actually willing to buy my old machine off me if I go for a new pc. I would likely upgrade this to something like an rtx3080ti at a later date when they come out.

For hard drive I'd like a 2tb drive as main, and either a 1tb or 2tb secondary ssd as storage.

I'd like all my games to run from the ssd, so I'm thinking use the secondary mostly for photo and video storage.