350D or D50?

Soldato
I'm looking to buy a camera, I'm pretty new to photography in the art side (have over 15,000 happy snap photo's from the last 7 years of my life) but want something to take great pics with.

I'm looking between the Nikon D50 and Canon 350D and veering more towards the Canon. However, my father has a lot of Nikon lenses so it may work out that the Nikon would be better, then I can borrow some of his lenses ;) (it's all semi old Nikon gear, about 5 years old).

I know both are close to each other in terms of performance and features, which would you choose? :confused:

Soldato

Soldato
OP
Thanks for those links, very informative. I'm thinking as the 350d and the d50 are both packed full of settings perhaps it would be better for me to go for something that I can learn on for a year first, then sell on and upgrade to a 350d or d50?

This way I can take some nice pics without getting frustrated by 1000's of settings that are probably in the hundreds of sub menus. Would this be a better way to go? I like to have control over what I'm doing as I like to develop my own style so would be looking for something that I can play with to produce interesting shots but at the same time won't overwhelm me.

Or should I just plunge in to getting the 350d or d50? :rolleyes: :D When I get in to something I tend to learn as much as possible to get the most out so i'm prepared to spend a lot of time teaching myself.

EDIT: I'll pop in to my local No Competitors! FF. tomorrow too and see if I can get my hands on some different cameras.

Last edited:
Soldato