• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

4 x 18A 12v rails for a GTX 260 Black Edition?

Associate
First off I have to say that this forum is amazing – such a wealth of knowledge!

Hopefully, someone will be able to help me with a frustrating problem. I should point out that I am not a newbie – I have been building my own PCs for a few years now but this is my first Intel system (I think my sig is up to date).

I have had a few problems with stuttering and slow HD access but I think (touch wood) I have sorted this out with a reinstall and newer raid drivers.

Everything seems to be running fine in Windows – Internet Explorer, Win Media Player, etc all running smooth. The problem comes when I play Crysis (the only game I have at the moment). I have been playing through the game all week and really enjoyed it, it seems to run pretty good at 1680 x 1050 4x AA with all other settings on high. I get the odd slow downduring intense battles but I attributed that to the screen being very busy at that time.
On Thursday night I reached the last level (I think! The one on the flight deck of the boat). During this level I get a complete failure at some random time but usually when there is a big explosion or something like that. The screen goes solid grey and the last second of sound is looped, at which point I can do nothing but hit the power button and reboot.

I have tried a few different things over the last 2 days. I have done a full chkdsk - takes a looong time on a 1TB drive! I have reinstalled the game and Nvidia driver (180.48) and I have done a full memtest but none of these things have made any difference.