7900x OC stability issues.

Associate
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
Hi guys,

I purchased the pre-binned 7900x @4.7ghz a few months ago but cannot for the life of me get a stable OC (not new to overclocking, but new to this platform).

I've tried numerous settings suggested by others (offsets, adaptive, per core, sync all cores) but just wondered if anyone could post their current settings for me to play around with again or help me out please?

Settings tried recommended by RSR but with XMP for my ram and bumped voltages slightly higher:

Ai Overclock Tuner [XMP]
XMP [XMP DDR4-3603 16-16-16-36-1.350V]
CPU Strap [100]
BCLK Frequency [100.0000]
AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [3]
AVX-512 Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [5]
CPU Core Ratio [Sync All Cores]
ALL-Core Ratio Limit [47]
Min. CPU Cache Ratio [32]
Max. CPU Cache Ratio [32]
DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3600MHz]
CPU SVID Support [Disabled]
CPU Core Voltage [Manual Mode]
CPU Core Voltage Override [1.178]
DRAM Voltage(CHA, CHB) [1.3500]
DRAM Voltage(CHC, CHD) [1.3500]
CPU Load-line Calibration [Level 6]
CPU Current Capability [140%]
Long Duration Package Power Limit [4095]
Short Duration Package Power Limit [4095]

Specs:

i9-7900x
EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 w/ EK waterblock
ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL14 4x8GB - (actually bought this recently as was using 8 sticks before and thought it could be affecting OC)
Samsung 960 PRO 2TB w/ EK heatsink
Corsair AXi 1200w

Cooling:
2x 480mm EK rads, EK-D5 Pump, EK-XRES 250, 8x Noctua NF-12 PPC 3000 PWM, 2x Noctua AF-12 3000 intake and a biggun as exhaust.

Re-seated monoblock a few times due to seriously high temps, still high during bench (cancelled when hitting over 90oc, max has been 96oc with ambient 16-18oc). GPU max 40oc.

Sorry if I missed anything, just ask and I'll post.

Cheers!
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
did some real world testing, games like far cry 5 whilst streaming with OBS will blue screen anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 hour

Ran 3DMark, PCMark and Realbench today BSOD within 1 - 10 minutes

edit: result! found the parcel, sticker was stuck in the bottom reading 4.7gamang 1.235v
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
Just an update, here are the current settings with changes made underneath each. Gone at it most of the day with no result.

Probably just overlooking something so fresh set of eyes would be great.

Ai Overclock Tuner [XMP]
XMP [XMP DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1.350V]
CPU Strap [100]
BCLK Frequency [100.0000]
ASUS MultiCore Enhancement [Auto]
AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [3]
AVX-512 Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [5]
CPU Core Ratio [Sync All Cores]
ALL-Core Ratio Limit [47]
Min. CPU Cache Ratio [30]
Max. CPU Cache Ratio [30]
BCLK Frequency : DRAM Frequency Ratio [Auto]
DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3200MHz]
Xtreme Tweaking [Disabled]
TPU [Keep Current Settings]
CPU SVID Support [Disabled]
BCLK Aware Adaptive Voltage [Auto]
CPU Core Voltage [Manual Mode]
CPU Core Voltage Override [1.235]
CPU Cache Voltage [Auto]
Uncore Voltage Offset [Auto]
Uncore Voltage Offset Prefix [+]
CPU Input Voltage [2.100]
DRAM Voltage(CHA, CHB) [1.3500]
DRAM Voltage(CHC, CHD) [1.3500]
CPU VCCIO Voltage [1.10000]
CPU System Agent Voltage [1.10000]
PCH Core Voltage [1.10000]
PLL Reference Offset Mode Sign [+]
PLL Reference Offset Value [Auto]

*Changes*

CPU Input Voltage: 1.8 to 2.1

Vcore: 1.235 to 1.250

VCCIO: Auto to 1.1

System Agent: Auto to 1.1

CPU Load-line Calibration [Level 6]
CPU Current Capability [140%]
CPU VRM Switching Frequency [Auto]
VRM Spread Spectrum [Auto]
CPU Power Duty Control [Extreme]
CPU Power Phase Control [Extreme]
CPU Power Thermal Control [120]
DRAM Current Capability [140%]
DRAM Power Phase Control [Extreme]
DRAM Switching Frequency [Auto]
CPU Input Boot Voltage [Auto]
CPU System Agent Boot Voltage [Auto]
CPU VCCIO Boot Voltage [Auto]
Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology [Enabled]
Turbo Mode [Enabled]
Long Duration Package Power Limit [4095]
Package Power Time Window [Auto]
Short Duration Package Power Limit [4095]
CPU Integrated VR Current Limit [Auto]
CPU Integrated VR Fault Management [Auto]
CPU Integrated VR Efficiency Management [Auto]

*Changes*

Tried all of these at default, LLC Auto etc.

Intel(R) SpeedStep(tm) [Auto]
Turbo Mode [Enabled]
CPU C-states [Auto]
Enhanced C-states [Enabled]

Intel(R) Speed Shift Technology [Enabled]

*Changes*

Tried default and turning off SpeedStep / C-states.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
It's pretty much always dpc_watchdog_violation

Think there's only been 1x irql_not_less_or_equal with some different settings and the old ram
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
Upped vcore to 1.25v, disabled speedshift and put the cache ratio / voltage to auto.

Realbench failed at 11 minutes, should I now try not using XMP and manually enter the voltage and timings?

Also, is realbench (benchmark/stress test) the best to use?

Got 3DMark, PCMark 8 Advanced Edition but not sure on what's best to run on it... only used it for benching in the past.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
Tested again without XMP but still the same crash around 10 minutes in.

Thanks for the info, I feel like AVX is the issue... should I set the offsets to AUTO (with auto they're obviously matching the clock @4.7 so would this cause even more instability?) and try again?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
Ok, ran XTU for 20 minutes (hope that's enough for now) and it's stable with temps not going above 67oc.

Is the next step for AVX stability like you said, starting high and lowering 1 by 1?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
To be honest, I'm not entirely sure what else uses it apart from OBS.

This build is primarily for gaming, streaming (OBS), photoshop, lightroom, sony vegas and media streaming (remote connection from phone / laptop to access files, view cctv and all of that jazz).

Using the previous settings with vcore 1.25v and AVX -3 / -5 the system still crashes whilst playing games and using OBS, guessing that's the culprit?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
Apologies, busy weekend. Went to post from the first page didn't see everyone else was chiming in!

Tried what you said regarding a bigger AVX offset, went down to -12 and -14 and still the same issue, BSOD around the 11 minute mark even XTU is sometimes fine for 10-20 minutes and sometimes failing inbetween.

Also tried going down to 4.6 (not to sound like a tool if it worked still wouldn't be happy as paid for 4.7, even though it's negligible it's still what was paid for) to no avail, exactly the same BSOD's :/

Still at 1.25v but it's significantly hotter than testing at 1.235v.

Motherboard has been RMA'd and installed 3 times (this is a ballache with a custom loop btw), splashed out on new ram + ran memtest for hours, tested the psu and cooling is more than adequate so ruled out everything there.

Will tryout the next recommended settings and get back to you guys don't want to give up and really appreciate the help from everyone so far but it's heading that way.
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
The "plan to use AVX" I feel is a bit of a false question. Since I concluded you use AVX anyway in everyday computing.

When I was deciding on my avx offset on my 8600k, I was reading OC forums, and there was claims that AVX is some kind of specialised function not commonly used.

However I discovered mainstream apps like chrome and most a/v software, and even windows update would trigger the AVX offset, I concluded that indeed most software uses AVX instructions, and I then decided to use an avx offset of 0.

So in short to me, a 5ghz CPU is not a 5ghz cpu if it requires an AVX offset of anything other than 0. So if I was buying pre binned hardware, I would refuse to buy a product not binned with an offset of 0. I am probably a stubborn person in this respect, but it is my point of view on AVX and overclocking.

With that said, I do feel pumping a AVX stress tester is far from realistic.

So you might be able to find a middle ground here.

Try this.

Set offset back to 0
Test a non AVX workload and see if it is stable at the target clocks.
Set a TDP limit in the bios that you know will force the cpu clocks to TDP throttle during a AVX bench/test. But not throttle things like AVX gaming such as gta5.
Then see if that is stable.

Nooby question... I cannot find TDP anywhere in the BIOS, never had to change this on previous builds. Is that Long/Short Duration Packet Power Limit? Seen someone mention setting them both to 4095.

Also, XTU only reports Package TDP as 1-2W when stress testing whereas seen others with around 179w?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
if its not even working at 4.6 id be returning it now. unless its memory related which i dont think it is based on your bsod codes.

Damn, hopefully the RMA process isn't a wait around for it to be tested lost so much time with this already would just like to buy a new one asap.

The only setting I got btw was the 1.235 vcore, not sure if anyone else got more but I called them a week after having issues, got told they're tested by employees who don't write down all the settings and "You should know how to overclock"... eh fair enough.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
OK this seems a messy thread...
Easy set xmp, set avx offset to 6 and avx 512 to 7,all cores 47... Min cache 27 max cache 27 Dram speed 3000, digi power cpu current cap 240%, cpu vcore 1.25-1.275v cache auto 0.92v memory 1.375, Vccio 0.92v... Test...

Now mono block in my opinion after a lot of testing are not good on this platform. Normal cpu block is better by far and this is what I advise all customers buying my bundles now. Really a good 10-15c worse on mono...

Test this by using your pc and report back.

Didn't know that about the monoblock! Can't send it back now though which sucks so kinda stuck with it but worth knowing for the future.

Ok, cleared cmos and set all what you mentioned and finally thought it was stable with a 15 minute test... BSOD on 14 minutes.

At 1.25vcore and above it starts to get way too hot hitting 95oc+ (have reseated block several times) which I didn't expect with 2x 480mm rads, delid and ambient 18-20oc.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
these blocks are not good at all!!Dont stress test just use...

Seen people hitting 80c non-delid at stock speeds with 1 rad, 1.235v hits around 87oc getting close to Tj so might be worth investing if it can drop 10oc... poor bank account.

Only stress tested because playing and using OBS it can take anywhere between half hour to two hours before crashing which mid stream looks awful, same with video/picture editing and everything gets lost.

Will play around a bit and run OBS w/ non-live stream and see what happens, otherwise not sure whether to cut losses and replace.

Really appreciate everyone's time and help with this, will give it awhile and report back.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Apr 2018
Posts
17
I've just been reading through this and its interesting to see the differences.

How are you getting on now?

No luck which is disappointing as everyone's taken the time to try and help, it's running ok with a lower clock on some things but after awhile of using OBS or editing software it BSOD's... only been given one choice to send it back for testing. Initially just wanted to order another and send this one back for a refund but apparently that's not a choice.
 
Back
Top Bottom