Absolute novice looking for direction

Associate
OP
What experience do you have in drive high performance cars? If not a lot, you won't find a 600cc bike slow after the first year. Those who do, usually haven't found the top of the revs!

I echo what others have said, the SV650, ER6, Z650 etc are great, reliable bikes which have plenty of accessible power for a new starter. You will probably learn on one of these bikes (or similar) as part of your DAS.

One thing I will say: don't buy a bike now. On your DAS, the type of bike and engine size you want will come to you. For some inspiration, if you don't like sports bikes, I would look at the Suzuki SV650X, Yamaha MT07, Honda CB650R for inspiration.

Was a bit of a boy racer in my day, had a car that was featured in max power, my last love was a scooby but got rid of that when my second child was on the way (2006).

SV650 sounds like the one for me, wont be buying until Dec or Jan as my DAS isn't until Dec (so I couldn't even test ride or pick up a bike).

Where do us bikers (lol) get gloves etc, I've looked on amazon but they all seem cheap and crap. I have a helmet left over from 6 years ago that I bought from the CBT centre.

Soldato
Sportsbikeshop is very good and is my main place as they stock all the good manufacturers.

J&S is also a reasonably good shop too.

both have retailers around the country. SBS have a shop in Milton Keynes which will be your closest. Their main shop/warehouse is in Lincolnshire, the MK shop will stock their most popular lines. If you see items you like on SBS, you can order them to try on at the Milton Keynes store with no commitment to buy, so order all sizes etc

Last edited:
Soldato
I did the same thing just over 2 years ago.
I was a total novice to motorcycling, I passed my CBT then bought a 125 (Honda Varadero).