Abusing working from home

Soldato
I work in IT and we have a policy which is basically that you can work from home generally 1 day per week when appropriate and at the managers discretion. Usually this is granted after passing probation and you negotiate your selected day of the week based on your personal preference vs business requirements.

Unfortunately over time, it has become very slack and so "flexible" to the point it is arguably abused by some and there is a fear that it will be ruined by these individuals where it will be stopped entirely. Some of the issues we face with it are:

1: People not asking for permission and just working from home when they feel like it
2: People giving extremely poor excuses for working from home
3: People not doing much work when working from home and disappearing/going quiet for long periods
4: People not communicating as much from home
5: People communicating/doing too much from home (possibly trying too hard to ensure they are viewed as doing enough work)
6: People feeling they cannot leave their computer in case they are skyped/emailed with something urgent and appear to be slacking off when not available instantly.
7: People strategically booking appointments for days when they DO NOT normally work from home, and then taking those days as work from homes days in additional to their normal designated home working day.
8: As above extending holidays by taking additional days as "work from home" when in reality they just want an easy ride for a couple of extra days.
9: Using any travel delay - even minor - as an excuse to work from home
10: Missing vital events, collaborative efforts and meetings by prioritizing home working first.
11: Major issues occurring with minimal staff on site to be able to speak to someone first hand
12: People having really poor microphones/comms setup at home if at all, causing a lack of communication for any meetings or team conversations for that day.