Advice/Reality check of webdesign.

Soldato
I want to start up my own business and thus I need a very professional looking site, which money handling and file upload handling capabilities.
Let's for instance take www.photobox.com as an example of what I need.

What I'm curious about is having a site like this made or making it myself.
This in my mind involves two scenarios which I hope someone could clarify.

1- If I started learning HTML5 now, at a fast pace (imagine I'm a quick learner) how long would it take to come up with something similar (Months? Years?)

2- Having it made. How much would something like that cost, and who could do it. Could I rope in a underworked genius or is it down to spending thousands from a reputable company?

Thank you for your help.

Last edited:
Its easy enough to learn programming, however, its the design part of it which would be the problem! Can you design? Photoedit, create graphics and know what works together and what does not? It would take you time and trial and error if not.

Yes and No, mostly yes. I am fulltime freelance retoucher and do design work on the side so it's not out of the realms of possibility. All I do all day long is work in photoshop so I know what I'm doing. I hope weblayout would take only a little research to adapt my current work style too.
I have in the past played with HTML back in the notepad days, and a tiny bit of flash coding, but very little.

Do you know how much it would cost either way, as in a sense I have to work out if my time is worth the money!

1 has no answer, either you are an artistic and IT genius, with uber energy focus and skill, the project with take weeks and cost nothing

or you are stupid and lazy it will take years and look rubbish...

I know I could do the behing the scenes stuff thats easy anyone could do it...

the making it look good I know for a fact I could NEVER do... i am not artistic it will look pants if I defigned it..