Some Generic Motherboard

Render Rig
2x Intel Xeon 2.4ghz - OC'd to 3.0Ghz
2GB PC3200 Ram
80GB 7200RPM HD
ATI 9200se
CD-Rom
Asus NCCH-DL

Okay, im a student at college, going to uni next year. I play a lot of CSS, my gaming comp just doesn't seem to cope at all anymore. I do a lot of 3d graphic design and rendering, so i put the render comp together for about £500 last year.

What I want to do is upgrade my Gaming comp to cope with CSS and future games, but I dont want to break the bank

So, What i have planned is something like this:
- get a new motherboard with PCI-E
- new CPU... what type, god knows, good for gaming and general windows use
- Use the existing RAM for now
- Sort out some SATA drives
- Maybe a new vid card, I know the 6800 can play CSS nicely, but it is the cpu holding it back.
- Will need a new PSU - the generic POS in the gaming comp will probably die.
- New case

okay, can anyone spec me a nice upgrade?

keeping it on the cheap too.... any other suggestions on what i should do would be nice... Thanks all

Soldato
Just get a 7800GS AGP Gfx card as that will do you for another 12 months in gaming. I presume you probably have a 1024x768 or 1280x1024 monitor so @ those resolutions the gfx card should just about be enough. Another 1GB of Ram would also help with improving loading times/FPS as you will not need to hit the page file as often so the CPU will have less load on it.

TBH your CPU will just about cope for another 12 months with a faster gfx card as long as you compromise on some gfx settings.

As for your PSU all depends on how much money you want to spend. Should always get the best PSU you can afford as if that ever fails it can take your mobo+ram+cpu+gfx card with it!

Browse the hardware forum here as it is a common question which comes up every few days.

Associate
OP
I was considering just getting a new agp graphics card, but my 6800 isn't the bottleneck in CSS.

I have the graphics on Low and it runs the same as having them on medium.