1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AL1916WS-What a buy!

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Poolybit, 23 May 2006.

  1. Poolybit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 1,174

    Got home today from work and there it was, waiting for me, my new 19" widescreen Acer. Needless to say I unpacked and hooked up straight away. Fired up, changed it to its native (1440x900),

    Windows Desktop has never looked so good! It stretched across the screen perfectly and with a 8ms response time BF2 looks lush!

    Definately a brilliant buy for the price!
     
  2. Townlea

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,140

    Location: Preston, UK

    ohh stop it!

    your making me jelous, hopfully I will be as pleased as you on thursday can't wait :)
     
  3. p4radox

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,767

    Location: Prague

    Seems very popular at the moment. I was going to snap up a 17" monitor for £80 in the B-Grade section but it got sold before I had time to get my wallet out - so I bought the Acer instead. I'm very pleased with it too :cool:
     
  4. Si MPS

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 918

    Location: Manchester

    Mine should be coming tomorrow, i am sincerly looking forward to it :D
     
  5. Poolybit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 1,174

    Its definately worth the wait, I upgraded from a 17" Dell CRT and trust me...IT WAS LUSH.
     
  6. Si MPS

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 918

    Location: Manchester

    Coincidentally, the same. An old D1025HE (i think that was the model) which popped after 7 years of good service :D
     
  7. Cyanide

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,969

    Location: Nottingham

    I almost died when I thought mine had blown up earlier, but it had just blown a fuse!

    Awesome monitor! :D
     
  8. Noni

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 742

    Got any pics, thinking of going to this from a perofrmance 17inch tft.

    EDIT- IGNORE MY SIG< ITS A JOKE
     
  9. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,839

    Location: Brighton

    I have the 20inch version, good monitor and was £50 cheaper than the nearest rival at the tiem I bought mine.
     
  10. Townlea

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,140

    Location: Preston, UK

    ohh you lucky sod, I wish I had spent a bit more on the delivery to get it tomoz! :mad:

    EDIT: Looks like I might have it tomoz!!!! mega super dooper reveiw maybe on the way, the monitor is missing on the reveiw sticky.. am sure i can make my own :)
     
    Last edited: 23 May 2006
  11. Raven8472

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Apr 2006

    Posts: 108

    Location: The Shires

    There about 4-5 threads on this monitor alone praising its merrits - which i have been a member of :)
    See http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17551721&highlight=acer+widescreen
    Includes pictures for potential buyers on page 2

    Shame about the lack of DVI socket cant complain though as i was fully informed when i bought it and chuffed with it - Been told its works quite well with a xbox 360 but swapping cables doest appeal to me , ( unless i can find a switch box of somekind for pc and 360 )
     
    Last edited: 24 May 2006
  12. geeza

    Banned

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,206

  13. Si MPS

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 918

    Location: Manchester

    Wow. This is a bit special.
     
  14. geeza

    Banned

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,206

    im about to get one off the bay i think
     
  15. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,839

    Location: Brighton


    You'll be wanting a KVM switch :) seen a belkin one for £15
     
  16. Raven8472

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Apr 2006

    Posts: 108

    Location: The Shires

    Many thanks - Ive been thinking of buying a 360 but remember from the days when i used my Dreamcast on my old CRT monitor- pain in the royal having to change cables each time.

    Im guessing price for 360 will go down nearer ps3
     
  17. hogfather

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,074

    Location: Sarrrf London

    hey, mine blew a fuse a while back too!


    I was like NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! But it was fine. Weird!
     
  18. Burly

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Aug 2005

    Posts: 715

    i have had this monitor for a while now. when the initial wow effect wears off, you miss the extra screen space topways in a normal 19in or even 17in TFT. well i find this for me anyway. though watching movies, playing games (+360) are brilliant. but seeing as i dont hardly do neither now, im probably going to sell it off and get a square.

    also about KVM switches, the quality of the screen degrades when it is plugged in (its not massive, but it is noticable). you can notice it instantly when you switch them over. personally i couldnt use one, and now i just switch manually.
     
  19. sid

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Feb 2003

    Posts: 5,178

    Location: London

    TBH,

    this screen doesnt even do enough to match my 2year old LG 1710B, The colours are just not vibrant and crisp enough. The text is not sharp enough either, I mainly only watch movies/videos on it.

    Im using this in a multiscreen setup and you can easily see why this screen is so cheap. The stand is a bit short (3" too short).

    If you are going from a CRT then its very good but theres definately better TFTs to be had.

    I've also noticed that browsing websites is a bit of pain on this TFT cos the res is low, need to scroll around loads :(

    sid
     
  20. wellibob

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,049

    Dude.... its like a £170 monitor, what do you want ? gold .. pffftt. I do agree with the lack of depth compared to a standard 1280x1024 display , this is why one has a 19" and a 20" :D