Any one here use Nespresso machines?

Soldato
I've just placed an order for my first and I'm looking forward to it while also wondering if it will be worth it :D they seem to get good reviews however the one I have gone for uses a new pod design to sort of eliminate 3rd parties making their own pods for cheaper.

They had £50 off plus you get a £40 voucher back to spend on their store which I found quite a fair deal.

Any recommendations on pods? I'm no coffee expert so I'm looming to try something new, not overly strong

Soldato
OP
didnt the nespresso pod patent expire. guess thats why they changed it.

I use cafe royale pods
Maybe the case! The new ones use barcode technology so when the pod is in the machine, it knows which one is inserted and blends it accordingly which is quite cool! Something else that can brake I guess ;)

Caporegime
I do, oen of the ncie small metal units. I used ot ave a Rancillio Silvia + rockygrinder but was a US version and I moved to europe. Needed something quick and cheap and the Nespresos hits all the key points; cheap, easy, fast, small unit, and actually decent coffee all things considered.

Coffee comes out predicable above average. With the Silvia I would get great espressos, or terrible, and everything in between. News beans were always a hassle to get the grind. Everything got pretty messy and you would wait an age for the machine to heat up.

Might move to a bean-to-cup in the summer, but a decent brand like Jura.

Soldato
OP
Her she is! Impressed so far, hotter than my previous machine and a lot quieter too.
5KtwAzx.jpg

Came with a variety of pods to try too. Offers 3 different sizes and 4 different cup sizes.

DxmipYm.jpg

Soldato
had not realised the centrifugal action replaces the pump

plus bigger capsules should mean sufficient coffee for a double espresso vs 5-6g in predecessor

refillable with a kit https://www.facebook.com/mycapllc/posts/881968498504501