Anyone got Life insurance?

Associate
My wife and I are aged 29 and 28 respectively with no children. I've decided to take out some life assurance for both myself and my wife. We will be paying £25ish each for £250,000 of index linked cover (5%increase each year) until age 90.

Was wondering if any fellow ocuk'ers have had the foresight to get life assurance too and what prompted them? For us it was a combination of realising that taking one out 10 years from now would cost double and that's assuming we don't have any health problems still. One of my wife's friends passed away so it's really prompted us to get various protections in place whilst were young and healthy.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Yeah I'm no financial expert. But I do have an eye for finance and basically my understanding was that all the quoting websites would cover you for a set amount of time of your choice e.g 20, 30, or 40 years....or a set age whether it was 65, 70, 75, or 80.

I thought for ourselves whilst we hope to live a long life I didn't want to get shafted by outliving our policy say living till 81 on policy going to 80years old so I took out policies that cover us till age 90 which is the highest in the insurance market (well short of going for whole of life cover but that would cost is £100 each a month).

It's £250k each and one of us if bound to go by age 90

I have the choice to pay 5% higher premium and then the insurance amount £250k will also go up by 5% thus keeping it in line with inflation. Will prob let it increase for 14 years. The premium will be £50 each and cover will be £500k each and it will allow is to pay the cost as our salaries increase over the next 14 years.

My dads insurance was for £28k took out in the 80's but his policy was only till age 64 and he is 60 now. This is what prompted me to go till age 90.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Cancelled my income protection with PG Mutual today as premiums go up every year.