1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone Using an Asus DSL-AC68U

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Socrates470BC, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. Socrates470BC

    Gangster

    Joined: May 22, 2011

    Posts: 382

    Location: Perthshire, Scotland

  2. Alsone

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 26, 2007

    Posts: 34

    Yep they should work on standard ADSL as they have a modem built in and says they are compatible with ADSl / ADSL2+ etc.

    http://www.asus.com/Networking/DSLAC68U/

    They're impossible to find atm. Google only turns up results in Australia with several users saying faster than their previous premium modems / routers so looking very good. I presume they've only been released in Aus up to now.

    BTW, as an aside (maybe OC can feed this back to Asus), I wish they'd choose different model numbers for their products as its really easy to confuse them when the only difference is the prefix lettering. eg there's an older non modem RT-AC68U as well as the DSL-AC68U.
     
  3. PlumpMonkey

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 7, 2009

    Posts: 457

    Location: Bristol, UK

    I'm waiting for these to come out in the UK too and will snap one up as soon as it does. It supposedly works well with the BT FTTC stuff and the home hub 5 I have from BT is shockingly bad. It reboots itself multiple times a week when under load.

    I've been using the RT-N56U router/wireless access point for a few years now and its a cracking bit of kit. With the dsl-ac68U I can pair this up as a wifi extender in the house too.

    I notice that the ASUS UK site has only been updated to include this product in the last week or so, so hopefully its coming very soon.
     
  4. LordBarrass

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 22, 2014

    Posts: 338

    I am speaking to ASUS at the moment trying to find out when these will be available in the UK.

    edit: You will be looking at the end of July for stock within the UK. I will be getting it set up as soon as possible and will be taking pre-orders. I will post on the forum once it is set up.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014
  5. PlumpMonkey

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 7, 2009

    Posts: 457

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Hurrah! Thanks for following this up. Ill keep an eye out for the pre-orders.
     
  6. Sparx

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 30, 2007

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Thanks abarrass, any idea on price (roughly)?
     
  7. Alsone

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 26, 2007

    Posts: 34

    I think suggested retail is roughly around the price of the RT-AC68U from what I've seen on the Asus web site / elsewhere.
     
  8. Furyus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 15, 2010

    Posts: 742

    Location: Weston-super-Mare

    I've got the RT version the fiber version. It's beautiful! !
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
  9. Spudgun

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 1,360

    I'b be interested in this to free up a socket/clutter near to my telephone master socket.

    Hope it is priced somewhere around the current AC68U price
     
  10. Alsone

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 26, 2007

    Posts: 34

    The beauty of the new one (DSL prefix) is that I understand it supports both fibre and ADSL, so it's future proof.

    If you're on fibre and suddenly unable to afford the subscription, then you can still use it on ADSL. If you're on ADSL and decide to upgrade to fibre, you can still use it on fibre.

    I think it's essentially an RT with upgraded features / added modem.
     
  11. Alsone

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 26, 2007

    Posts: 34

  12. PlumpMonkey

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 7, 2009

    Posts: 457

    Location: Bristol, UK

    I think the RT version can only be used for fibre in conjunction with the Openreach Modem or another compatible FTTC Modem. In my case they now use the HomeHub 5 as a modem and router so I don't have the separate Openreach modem and cant use the RT version.

    The DSL version contains a VDSL2 modem so can replace the Openreach modem (And it also contains an ADSL/ADSL2+ for regular DSL).
     
  13. Sparx

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 30, 2007

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Correct. This is why I want one. :D
     
  14. LordBarrass

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 22, 2014

    Posts: 338

    No pricing yet but as soon as I know more and get more details I will post back here or in a new thread.
     
  15. bledd

    Underboss

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 44,530

    Location: Parts Unknown

    The DSL-N66U has a VDSL modem in it too. Doesn't seem as awesome as the AC68U though
     
  16. PlumpMonkey

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 7, 2009

    Posts: 457

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Some reviews of the DSL-N66U I saw seemed to indicate the radios weren't as good as they could be. Plus I'm starting to fill up the house with AC kit so it seems like I should be buying AC routers now...
     
  17. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2004

    Posts: 13,299

    It'll be interesting to see how well the integrated VDSL modem performs with HAUWEI & ECI DSLAMS.
     
  18. Alsone

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 26, 2007

    Posts: 34

    Well as someone who's had a Hauwei modem, I can't say I was overly impressed with a Hauwei to Hauwei or ECI connection.

    There are a few people on this forum in OZ reporting increased download speeds on both wireless and wired connections:

    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2272447

    This in particular caught my eye:

    :0
     
  19. thenewoc

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2012

    Posts: 2,617

    Location: West Sussex, England

  20. Alsone

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 26, 2007

    Posts: 34

    Only difference |I can spot is the "r" version appears to support an IP Sec Sever (801.11n isn't listed in the top feature list on the R, but mentioned down below):

    It's probably difficult to read, so to do a comparison yourself (not clear from the asus website, tick compare product for each of the versions U and R, then go to the search box at the top right of the Asus web page. Next to it there are 3 horizontal lines, click on these and you'll find "Compare List" in the drop down menu and there should be 2 items in it if you ticked both U and R versions. Click on Compare List, and it should bring up a picture of each item along with the description in a ribbon style display. Click the Compare Now button and you have your comparison!

    Why Asus hide it away like that I don't know!

    [​IMG]
     


Share This Page