1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus MW221U 22" Ghosting in games.

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Devious, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK

    Im really liking this monitor except for noticable ghosting in games next to dark objects. I wish I had a camera to capture the effect, but in the picture below if i move the camera from left to right there is a thick bright yellow ghost of the fire escape to the right of the dark fire escape. I always expected the ghost to be behind but its in front of it as i move.

    [​IMG]

    Does anyone else with this Asus have the same problem or have I got a dud ?

    Heres a picture from in Oblivion in Anvil docks. Again when i move the camera there is thick yellow ghost of the dark ship next to it. It seemed more prominent at night time in game. If anyone has this game with the Asus or any of the other 22" panels I would be interested if its the same for you.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Lolcb

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 10, 2006

    Posts: 2,087

    Screenshots don't show ghosting etc lol. U need to take pics of it.
     
  3. fish99

    Soldato

    Joined: May 19, 2005

    Posts: 5,055

    Location: Doncaster

    Needless to say it doesn't show on screenshots.

    Sounds like it could be 'overdrive' to me since it's in front rather than a trail behind. Overdrive is when the screen needs to go from one colour to a lighter colour, and instead of rising up to the new colour, it sets the pixel to white and then let's it fall down to the new colour instead. The reason being that on LCDs 'falling' is quicker than 'rising', so you get a quicker screen overall. You can imagine in some situations this could lead to a pale ghost in front of an object. Another thing that makes me think it might be overdrive is the extremely low 2 ms response time of that screen, way below any other widescreen when it's probably using the same panel as many of them.

    It should be said though that overdrive shouldn't be visible/noticeable. IMO it's not acceptable that you can see it so easily. Lots of screens use overdrive without having this sort of ghost image. I should also say it might well not be overdrive at all.

    I'd do a web search (and search this forum) for other people having the same problem. You could just have a faulty screen, but if all MW221Us do it then personally I'd send it back and get something else.
     
  4. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK


    Hence why i said "I wish I had a camera to capture the effect" :rolleyes:


    It would be useful if someone could look at a similar screen to see if they have it. Its that bad i think im going to RMA. Also it seems im not the only one with the problem. This guy has it too.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  5. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,962

    Location: UK

    quite possibly some overdrive trailing there. Does it make any difference if you run at 60Hz or 75Hz refresh rate?
     
  6. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK

    Me and some others on this forum cant seem to change up from 60Hz on the default rez.
     
  7. Nogimmix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 13, 2003

    Posts: 2,694

    Location: Kent

    I have no problems changing from 60hz to 75hz on my monitor and I'm running a X1800XT card.
     
  8. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK

    With this monitor ? Did you get a driver with yours ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  9. Nogimmix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 13, 2003

    Posts: 2,694

    Location: Kent

    Yep with this monitor and no driver was included.
     
  10. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK


    Do you have the yellow ghosting with dark objects in front of lighter backgrounds ?
     
  11. Nogimmix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 13, 2003

    Posts: 2,694

    Location: Kent

    Not what I've seen but I've only been playing PES6 and Prey.
     
  12. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,962

    Location: UK

    something like Powerstrip might allow you to create a custom res/refresh to try
     
  13. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK


    Ive just created a custom profile with 75Hz in the Nvidia driver, unfortunatly the screen becomes corrupted and text looks messed up. :(
     
  14. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK

    Another thing i was wondering. The monitor only displays a picture with the connector furthest away from the motherboard on my graphics card. I would have thought either output would work fine like it does with my CRT. Is that normal ?
     
  15. Nogimmix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 13, 2003

    Posts: 2,694

    Location: Kent

    Right, after double checking my monitor is at 60Hz and not the 75Hz I set it up in Powerstrip and ATItools. :confused:
     
  16. Noxis

    Banned

    Joined: Jul 26, 2003

    Posts: 6,348

    Location: Surrey

    Remember you cant change refresh when using DVI.
     
  17. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK


    Can you explain more ?
     
  18. rapid64k

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 18, 2006

    Posts: 1,730

    please expand please :rolleyes:
     
  19. Mr_White

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 14, 2006

    Posts: 5,336

    Location: Cambridge

    DVI won't go any higher than 60Hz.
     
  20. Devious

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2003

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: UK

    Can someone explain this. The monitor only displays a picture with one of the DVI outputs from my gfx card, the connector furthest away from the motherboard. I would have thought either output would work fine like it does with my CRT. :confused: