Backup Devices

Bry

Bry

Associate
Hi, after my hard drive almost died last night i realised i should stop putting off my data backup.

the thing is over the years i have amassed a lot of personal data, almsot 1TB worth (home videos, pictures, work related files etc). That i just can't afford to lose

However, backing up and restoring this data to dvd would be low, cumbersome and unreliable.

So i was wondering what would be the best removable backup solution considering my amount of data. I don't really want to spend more than £100 if i can but can stretch up to £200.

Cheers for your help

Associate
I'm no expert on back ups but trying to back up all 1TB of data seem like 2 big a job. I would review what data you've got and try and work out what you really need if you can then get this down to 300 - 400mb range. IF you can do that then i would look at second, probably fifth in your case, hard disk and back up to this. Otherwise look at an external hard disk.

Personally i would use an external disk psychologically you are more likely to use if for back up only. With an internal disk i think there is a risk you just use it for main storage again.

Associate
With that much data that you can't afford to lose your bets bet isn't to backup but to use a RAID system. Basically you'l need to double your hard drive capacity in order to run this but it's the only way I can see to backup ALL of your data.

Also as this will be stored within the PC consider equiping yourself with a UPS/surge protector. If the machine were to spike and shutdown during an operation on the data then it would be likely to damage the drives or at least corrupt the data. As they can be had for very little these days it would be silly to run without one.

Soldato
RAID won't protect against data corruption, accidental deletion or fire&theft.