Balancing project work against support

Soldato
I'm an IT manager, everywhere I've worked I've had a battle to maintain BAU support whilst project managers try to use my team of engineers to work on their projects, Create new systems, install new stuff etc.

The best state I've been in organisationally is keeping a track in a basic excel spreadsheet of which engineer is working on which project, including working on our own stuff (upgrading IT systems to keep up to date etc) and refusing engineers to project teams unless they can argue with senior management that their project is more important than another project.

I denote IT stuff which cannot move, e.g. working on replacing SSL certificates which are due to expire, then I refuse the project team that engineer for that period of time.

I can't be the only one who's had this struggle, I'm curious as to how you've tackled this problem, what works for you?

Soldato
OP
BAU and SLAs come above all else. In relaity though it's not always as black and white as that.

I think it's quite a common problem and I've been at two places now where they have broken out into two seperate teams for build and run.
That's one thing I'm tempted to do. It's then a black or white matter for the project/build resource as to whether they're available or not.

Soldato
OP
Should have a service desk team and an engineering team, unless your company is tiny.

Engineering should only do BAU if there is no project work, or as last resort if service desk is struggling.

Reality is very different to this in most places though.

I do have a service desk too doing bau, but I'm mainly referring to 3rd line server guys who help projects by creating services, integrating services etc. They also have important bau to do like ensuring servers don't fill up, watching for unusual CPU usage, checking backups, testing DR etc

Soldato
OP