Becoming an airline pilot

Caporegime
Hi all

I'm an accountant and doing ok financially, but I basically hate the job and want to do something else with my life.

I really like the idea of becoming an airline pilot, mainly because of the travel and technical aspects of flying an aircraft with the solid salary when you get to captain.

I'm in good health etc., however I can't afford to pay a company £100k to train me. Are there any routes into this career for people changing tack in life, or is it a case of get a huge loan and hope for the best?

Caporegime
OP
Thanks all. Certainly some food for thought.

I have a young family, so my only workable outcome would be to get something training out of Birmingham airport. I have zero practical flying experience.

Sounds like I need to get real.

Caporegime
OP
Hi again! We'll it's lucky I didn't quit my job to become an airline pilot!

Anyway my journey to the skies begins on Saturday 3rd October, when I'll be going up in a small single prop from a local airfield for an hour, thanks to an experience voucher that someone got me for my birthday.

If I love it, I'll aim to move through the qualifications, and stop whenever I feel like it's enough, whilst carrying on as an accountant.

Enough might be PPL, light commercial, or who knows...heavy jets when the industry recovers and is recruiting again.

In the meantime, it would be pretty cool to be able to fly my family to France for the weekend in a rented prop.

As long as I don't stack it into the channel, of course.

Caporegime
OP
LOL

Am I reading this right? You want to train to become a pilot? Now?

The industry hit hardest by COVID, which has sacked off something like 80% (figure plucked out my arse, DYOR) of its pilots and will likely hire back the most experienced pilots at the lowest possible amount and work them to the absolute bone, you want to train to do this? Do you hate yourself that much?

You're nuts. Go unblock toilets or something, far less stressful.