1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Bent Pins and two Missing on a S478 CPU Help

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Pizzaboy2003, 1 Jun 2006.

  1. Pizzaboy2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Feb 2003

    Posts: 665

    Just need to know
    have got this from a friend who did of DIY and have now ended up with a non working computer
    what it is i need to know if someone has got a diagram over the pin on the cpu so i can see whats gone wrong.
    The "Dell thing " is not working anymore as my friend put all the lose bits inside and turned case upside drown :eek:
    so i can't test it on the computer and my systems are all AMD.

    so a bit of help please
     
  2. cleanbluesky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Nov 2004

    Posts: 24,654

    What i think you asked for is a diagram of the CPU pins... I'm not sure what you mean, unless you mean a picture of the underside of a S478 CPU, although I cant see how this would help...
     
  3. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,721

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Last edited: 1 Jun 2006
  4. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 13,984

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    i didn't understand the opening post 100%... but... i think what he means is a diagram of the bottom of a s478 CPU...

    possibly showing what each pin does, and whether or not it is needed... which means he can work out then what pins on his broken CPU are missing/broken and then whether or not (in theory) it will work?

    no idea where you could find something like that though.... but thats what i think he means.
     
  5. Pizzaboy2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Feb 2003

    Posts: 665

    sorry for my english guys is just llike your danish ;)
    but yes that is what i was after a diagram of bottom of the s478 to work out if the missing pins is needed , iknow some are gounds and orthers are some kind of volts?
     
  6. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,721

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Well how bad is the old lady? Have you a camera? Care to post a pic or two of the damage?

    If I look hard enough I might be able to find the exact spec for the socket design, thr one motherboard developers use.
     
  7. TheDogFather

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,529

  8. Pizzaboy2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Feb 2003

    Posts: 665

    thats the baby
    thanks
    now its pin A26 + A24 both a Source Synch - input/output
    What does that tell you?
     
  9. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 13,984

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    A24+26 are both VSS pins, which as far as i can gather are the pins that power up the CPU.

    i believe they also ground the processor... stopping it from getting fried?? :confused:
     
  10. Pizzaboy2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Feb 2003

    Posts: 665

    so i need them in order to get it to boot up then :(

    if thats the case is there any "FIX" you can do with a bit of handywork mabye get it to work
     
  11. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    Not sure if they can be fixed easily at all, spose you could solder some on :p

    EDIT: maybe a loop or wire or something going between the pins, like the 939 voltmod
     
  12. str

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,841

    I had to replace a pin on a S478 P4 mobile CPU.

    What I did was use a thin piece of metal (think it was a staple), put it in the CPU socket on the motherboard and put the CPU in the socket. The replacement pin obviously has to be thick enough so it doesn't fall through the socket hole and big enough so it touches the CPU. :)
     
  13. Pizzaboy2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Feb 2003

    Posts: 665

    or mabye use two pins of them where it says "Reserved" move them over to the missing place :eek: