Bike License.

Si.

Si.

Soldato
I've been wanting to get my Bike license since I was a kid but never was able to do it. Now that I'm older I fancy getting it done. What are my options? is direct access the best thing to do? I understand that doing that will allow me to ride any size bike rather than being stuck at sub 650.

I've been driving cars for 15+ years, and up to a year ago I used to Mountain bike every weekend so hopefully it shouldn't be too hard of a transition to Motorbikes.

Are the 5 day intensive courses any good? does anyone have any experience of these?

Si.

the way it worked with mine (direct access) was that i went and did my cbt, told them i wanted my full test and they reccommend a 3 day course if you are already semi competent at ridin a bike!

i wouldnt go for a 5 day cos 2 days plus a test morning is enough!
you would not be able to ride a 650 without it, i think that it is rated to horsepower and or kw now, 22bhp??? anyway, short of doing your direct access you would be stuck ridin a slower 250 bike (many of the 250 sports bikes are actually to powerful to ride without a restrictor. hope this helps! shop qaround for prices, they vary drastically! good luck!

Have a look in the sticky at the top, it explains it all.

As you are over 21, you have the following options:

CBT > DAS Test > Any bike

OR

CBT > Normal bike test > 33bhp for 2 years > Any bike

OR

CBT > Normal bike test > 33bhp bike > Accellerated Access > Any bike

Can I tack a post onto this thread..? I want to get my bike license probably early next year, how much will the "CBT > DAS Test > Any bike" route cost? I'm 33 and have been driving for a long time etc.. :)

Oh, and what would be a decent "starter" bike - nothing too pansy but nothing that's going to be too much to handle straight away..

£500 for a DAS etc