1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bikers What Cam Do You Use?

Discussion in 'Biker's Cafe' started by wazza300, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    What camera do you use to film your riding? and what's the best value cam atm regarding picture/sound quality for the price?

    always wanted to get me one but im lost:(
     
  2. ~Dockie

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 12, 2012

    Posts: 885

  3. ConTRo13R

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 3, 2008

    Posts: 3,147

    Location: Canterbury, Kent

    Contour Roam 2. No frills, and around £100.
     
  4. ElliorR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 20, 2009

    Posts: 8,804

    Location: Not where I'd like to be

    Babestation.
     
  5. tom_e

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 26, 2003

    Posts: 26,932

    Location: West mids

    I use the same, no problems here.
     
  6. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 2, 2004

    Posts: 19,971

    I don't use it, but get the Contour Roam 2. You can switch it on and immediately record using your gloves, plus it looks good.

    I have the Drift Ghost HD. Can't turn it on with your gloves, annoying separate controller. Would not recommend for daily use. It does have better video quality compared to the Contour and an external mic though.

    You just missed out on the Contour Roam 2 for around £80 :(
     
  7. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    does it come with all the gubbins to mount it to helmet or jacket or bike ect? (does the contour let you plug in an external mic aswell?)

    @ellior whats a babestation? that would be useless to me:(

    I like the innovv aswell,nice and compact
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
  8. Trucamo

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 7, 2013

    Posts: 254

    Location: Kent, England

    I'm using a drift stealth 2 which I bought for £125 (using a voucher code).

    The video quality is excellent however the sound quality above 15mph is just lots of wind noise. It doesn't support a pluggable mic either so the only option is to use an external sound recorder if you want decent audio.

    I find the camera easily usable while wearing gloves and can turn it on/off without taking it off of my helmet.
     
  9. pugheaven

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 22, 2008

    Posts: 2,579

    Location: Bryn Celyn Wales

    Yep... ace piece of kit the Roam, just persuedded my mate to buy one as well.
     
  10. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 2, 2004

    Posts: 19,971

    Everything you need to attach it to your helmet, yes. 2 mounts actually, one with a twisty bit so you can adjust the angle and another 'solid' one. Both with 3m tape that's held up on my brother's helmet for years through all weather.

    The Contour doesn't allow an external camera. Not much of an issue really. If you're recording for 'insurance' purposes, then you don't need sound and if you're recording for fun then you can use a £30 dictaphone in your pocket which will give good audio.
     
  11. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    Shame you can't attach a mic to it,be nice to hear exhaust note,I wouldnt speak though my voice sounds rather homosexual:(
     
  12. Clum

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2008

    Posts: 2,772

    Location: Auckland/Edinburgh

    Unfortunately it's speed cameras for me mostly
     
  13. ZedPowered

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 7, 2008

    Posts: 1,740

    Location: Bristol

    Go Pro 4 Black in 4K mode front facing and a Go Pro 2 rear facing @ 1080p.
     
  14. TallPaul_S

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 24, 2011

    Posts: 5,781

    Location: Kent

    [​IMG]
    :D

    To add to the OP's question - those who use separate sound recorders (Zoom H1/H2N etc) - what do you use? Poor quality audio with no mic input is normal on a £100 action cam, so a separate sound recorder is needed too.
     
  15. Drangueos

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 27, 2012

    Posts: 3,261

    Location: London

    Dazzne P2... I though it ok for the price... for £80 you get 2 batteries, 32gb microsd and loads of mounts.

    image is not the best on the dark or at night.
     
  16. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    Main gripe is no mic,I'd want decent audio if I could without a separate audio recorder

    Too much to ask on a budget?
     
  17. Snaggle

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,286

    Location: Northants

    Sony As30v

     
  18. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    That's good quality snaggle
     
  19. gcaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 18, 2011

    Posts: 1,187

    Location: South London

    Do any cams have the option to overwrite their own footage when they get to the end of their usable storage? I'd like one for commuting but cba with plugging it in to clear the memory card every couple of days.
     
  20. ~Dockie

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 12, 2012

    Posts: 885

    the innovv i posted up earlier had a loop feature which does that.