BMW 3 series Touring - advice please

Soldato
I've been working (in IT) for a leasing company for the last 3 years and have been lucky enough to get a new Audi A3 with all the bells & whistles every 6 months for very little. However I'm thinking of relocating next year and there's no guarantee my new job will come with a car, so I'll be in the market for new one. With a baby on the way and a tendency to lug bikes around on weekends (until the baby comes...) I'm thinking it's about time I got me an estate.

I've had a look around and so far the top pick for me is the BMW 3 series Touring - 320d M Sport specifically has caught my attention. These are the facts:

Budget: £10k, possibly a bit more if required.
Annual mileage: unknown at present but around 12-15k I expect.
Transmission: always driven manuals, is it worth considering the auto, and are there any perils with this car on an auto box?
Other factors:

- never really been a fan of leather, and I like the cloth interior on the M Sport but perhaps leather would be easier to clean baby dribble/puke/spilled ice creams off?
- satnav/iDrive, I'm used to having this on the Audis and would like it my next car ideally

What are they like to live with? How much could I reasonably expect to spend on servicing, tyres etc? Are there any major issues with them around 60/70k that might kick me in the wallet?

Any advice appreciated :)

Man of Honour
There are major issues with the 2 litre engine on this age of car snapping its timing chain, writing the engine off. Do some google research to throw some light on the subject.

I think £10k is going to get you a very average one of these - I think I'd probably be looking at something else, perhaps a Skoda Superb Estate.

Soldato
OP
That's not a bad shout on the Skoda actually, a lot of car for the money having just checked them out. Room for about 7 babies in the boot too should the wife get any ideas after no.1 arrives.