C++ Help

Associate
This shouldn't be too hard, I'm just beginning with C++:

In VBA, you can use the split function to split a string in to an array of individual characters. Alternatively, you can use 'mid' to get an individual character from a string.

So basically, a way of taking an input and putting each individual character in to array.

Is there a way to do this in C++? I've been looking but I can't find anything

Thanks

Associate
Normal C strings are already array like using a null terminator to indicate their end.

Standard string functions http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstring/

Use [index] to access an element.

e.g.
Code:
char myString[]="hello world";

char a=myString[3]; //a=fourth char i.e. the first 'l' note : it is fourth because index is zero based

another example going through each element in turn turning it upper case
Code:
char str[] = "hello world";
for(int i = 0; str[i] != '\0'; ++i)  //loop until null reached, you could also use strlen() here
{
    str[i] = toupper(str[i]);
}

Stl strings are another route that is sometimes more flexible to use ....

Standard Template Library Strings Standard string functions http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/string/string/

Use the at operator to get access to a specific location in an STL string

Code:
str.at(10);

There are other alternatives but those will likely do what you need and are the most portable.

Soldato
To me that looks like an array of type chars and you'd reference the elements in the array with mystring[0] (1), mystring[1] (2).

Last edited:
Associate
OP
I have another one. I'm trying to convert an arabic number to Roman numerals - only working additively since the task I'm working on completely ignores things like IX meaning 9 - 9 would be VIIII.

This code should, I believe, take off 1000 from the number if it is greater than 1000, and make the first value of the array 'M', and so on for 500 down to 1, in a loop until the number is 0 ('total' is the number)