• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Card is dying?

Associate
I've been running a 970 for about 6 years now, kinda faded away from pc gaming and whenever i think about upgrading it, life always seems to throw something in the way.

Anyway, seems the card is developing a fault. The fans are now revving at 4000rpm constantly, even though card temp is 28 degrees on desktop. Took the card out gave it a thorough clean and drivers redone etc, no change.

Has anyone any advice? Is my card gonna blow? There's no artefacts or anything on screen, it's just noisy as heck. I tried to use afterburner but that both bewildered me and didn't do anything?

If i need a new card, what do you recommend around the £200 mark? Doesn't need to be amazing, my gaming needs are quite light, i think maybe PUBG would be the hardest pusher that I would try to play. Although it would be nice to maybe try and get back in touch with gaming.

Thanks for any help.

Thermal paste needs to be redone personally. I would scour the used market for that price range. The A750 is a good buy though if you can stretch it a little further.

Last edited:
Not many options at the £200 mark for brand new cards. I hear the 6600XT is the only acceptable cheap card these days.

Personally I'd look at 2nd hand at that price point. I bought a 2nd hand 980ti around this price after 1000 series released. Now one can find much better options for that price.