Career Advice - quality assurance and automated testing

Associate
Hello all,

the below is a post I made on hacker news which unfortunately didn't get much attention so I'm still looking for answers. Its been a few weeks since then so at work I'm actually performing as a manual tester already and it seems to be going okay so far, I don't feel I need much advice in this regard as it mostly appears natural, apart from developing to writing good test plans maybe which I haven't done yet. Hopefully you guys have some good ideas for me in terms of what to do to get better outside of work.

So for background I'm a CS grad who doesn't seem to have a great ability to develop, at least not yet. I went into finance and worked for two years in support/development and got on very well, unfortunately my application got quite popular and therefore the team was heavily regulated, this meant I went to strictly support and low level so I wasn't happy with the lack of complexity.

As a result I decided to try a different industry and have went back to technology and got a job as a QA engineer. I am fully aware I cannot rely solely on my employer to provide the skills necessary to become a good QA Engineer.

Therefore I wish to firstly cement soft skills as a good QA tester which I believe I already have. i.e. an eye for detail, enjoy a good puzzle. What technical skills do people feel are required to be a good 'manual' tester?

Lastly the main reason I took this jump was to get into automated testing as I believe it will allow a jump in complexity and perhaps a side move to development when I'm good enough. Where do I start in becoming good at automated testing?