Choosing a TFT - Dell 2405FPW

Yao

Yao

Associate
I'm currently looking into buying a new monitor (TFT). Not being an enthusiast in this area I have little knowledge and experience on the market. I've read up a little on the various ones that seem to be quite popular and could do with some advice.

I'm primarily thinking of games, photo, and video editing. I've decided that the Dell 240 FPW will probably be the best choice, but I noticed on TFT Central that a Tom's Hardware review was not very favourable about its gaming abilities, i.e. lag. Dell seem to be producing a lot of good TFTs from what I can tell, but do others here agree that its not good for gaming?

Are there any equivelants from other brands that people would recommend? I'm hoping to spend between £500-1000.

Thanks,

Yao

Last edited:
Soldato
I'd also look at the eizo. Eizo's method of manufacture/design is much better, even when using the same core panel. Also Eizo's support is very good unlike Dell's. Oh and the Eizo offers so many options to choose from and is top dog for photo/film editing.

Man of Honour
there's a thread about the 2407FPW if you do a search :)

Regarding the 2405FPW to the OP, the issues with gaming on it are mostly that you need a pretty hefty GFX card to manage the full resolution at decent settings on modern games. The screen is not the fastest out there, and you could expect some texture blurring to be evident really. However, the sheer size of the thing makes it very nice for gaming, but it depends what games you want to play on it. The THG was not that generous about the 2405FPW, but there are many many users who love the screen :)

Soldato
I've been using my 2405FPW for about 8 months now, for basically the same as you, gaming, photoshop, DVD/videos etc.