Contracting?

Associate
Just thought I'd see if there is anyone else out there that has done any contracting?

I've been a C# developer for 5 years (programmer since 2000) and I'm considering it but I've no idea if I'm good enough or how good you need to even be. Any thoughts?

Soldato
I've been contracting doing C# development for over 5 years now.
Quality of contractors varies, just like permanent developers. There are a lot who are journeymen, but still make significantly more money than being permanent.

Where are you based?
I'm around London and there always seem to be a decent amount of contracts round here, especially if you have any financial markets experience.
There are obviously contracts available across the country (and beyond) but from my experience they are fewer and further between.

Associate
OP
Thanks for the reply. I'm based in the South-West, less contracts I'm sure but also less candidates/competition so maybe it evens out.

I'm no guru with C# ...but I can normally figure things out. Just wondering how you determine if you're good enough or if I'm reading too much in to it. Last thing I'd want was to get a contract and be like 'ummmm' :D

Soldato
How do you determine whether or not you're good enough for any role?
Contractors are not some special all-knowing group, just regular developers.
Yes, you'll be expected to get up to speed with projects quickly and learn new topics and concepts off your own back, but I would expect any decent developer to be doing this sort of stuff anyway.

Associate
OP
All good points, maybe it's an English thing!?

Problem with financial markets is you always need the experience in the first place, so you have to get lucky to get in the door.

Thanks for all your input, giving it serious consideration.

Soldato
Another question if you don't mind. Is the interview process any different with contracting?

It's usually simpler in my experience.