Contributing to Open Source Projects

Associate
Hey all,

A bit of background info, I started to learn Java just over 18 months ago and I have been a developer, developing a Java EE application for around 12 months now.

I want to start complimenting my skill set and experience with things outside of work. I started developing an android app but haven't got very far as the interest isn't there.

I think i'm interested in contributing to an open source project, even if it's just a bug fix or some refactoring I can help with.

Does anyone here contribute to anything or have any idea if any projects would accept contributions from someone with relatively little experience?

Dodgee

Associate
Contributions are contributions as in, it doesn't matter who you are, if you come across a problem or have a worthy contribution, then submit it. The whole point of open source is nobody owns it and anyone can change it and improve it.

You learning Java or Javascript? I don't know of any Java open source projects as it's not my field but there's tonnes of internet open source like WordPress and all the other CMS.

Associate
OP
Ahh cheers guys.

I'm learning Java, trying to learn some scripting languages but I wouldn't feel comfortable developing in anything else at the moment.

I'll take a look around some of the projects that interest me on github and pull the source down and start taking a look. :).

Associate
If you've learnt Java, why not make your own game? It's a great way to put into real world practice what you've learnt and will direct you towards new learning materials. Maybe you've got an idea to rival Angry Birds? I'm a web developer so Java isn't something I know anything about but the principals transfer. Sorry I couldn't be of more use.

Caporegime
Hey all,

A bit of background info, I started to learn Java just over 18 months ago and I have been a developer, developing a Java EE application for around 12 months now.