Designers/developers - Please fill in my mate's questionnaire

Soldato
Hello all

I have a mate at uni who is researching into the use of CSS pre-processors, so whether you are a developer, designer, DBA or whatever, your input will be greatly appreciated!

If you've never used pre-processors, it'll take roughly 2 seconds for you to complete. If you have, then the rest of your input would be invaluable.

Thanks in advance to any respondents!

http://t.co/dwnBHZnI

Worth noting that the title is "The Use of CSS Preprocessors in Todays Web Industry"

I'm a developer, not a web developer - so my input isn't really relevant iMo.

Done.

Should really expand the options for position in order to get a better idea of exactly who is using them.

ie:
Designer
Front End Dev
Back End Dev

I'd be curious how many back end guys who do a bit of front end stuff actually bother with them.

Done.

Should really expand the options for position in order to get a better idea of exactly who is using them.

ie:
Designer
Front End Dev
Back End Dev

I'd be curious how many back end guys who do a bit of front end stuff actually bother with them.

Heh, I never even knew about them. I gotta read about front up on my front end knowledge sometime, but I mostly hack on back-end / legacy code.

I submitted my opinion, if you write a lot of styles everyday its a no brainer but with so many frameworks available unless you are working on large projects often and have a team who also uses them it can be more more hassle than you really need.

UI designer/developer. Submitted.

Know about them, have looked into them, wouldn't adopt them and wouldn't recommend them in my current setting. - even on huge projects, you'd still continually need the entire development team to be on the same page.

Answered. I'm a full time web developer. I do mostly front end work, but I do a bit of everything really (still a fair bit of php).