DirectX 11 Framework help required! C++

Soldato
So I'm following this tutorial here (http://www.rastertek.com/dx11s2tut03.html) to setup a DX11 framework in C++ so that eventually I can create a graphics engine.

Now the issue persists upon this code:

// Convert the name of the video card to a character array and store it.
error = wcstombs_s(&stringLength, m_videoCardDescription, 128, adapterDesc.Description, 128);
if(error != 0)
{
return false;
}

I've never used wcstombs_s before but upon reading it I think I'm using it correctly... (Even copy pasted it flags as an error but I typed it out manually the first time since I tend to learn a bit better that way)

The issue is that I get an error of:

No instance of overloaded function "wcstombs_s" matches the argument list. Argument types are: (unsigned long long*, char[128], WCHAR[128], int).

I've tried trimming it down to a 3 variable instance of the function... For reference:

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstdlib/wcstombs/

Following this. And it still comes up with the no instance of overloaded function.

Has anyone got any advice on using wcstombs_s/can see the issue that I can't in the code I followed?

Soldato
OP
Might not be any help, but..

Is your second parameter an address to your string variable? Also it's good practice to use sizeof(var) instead of hardcoding 128.

Yeah I know it's better to use sizeof (not my code I just followed the tutorial :p will make changes later)

The second variable is an address of the string relating to the GPU's name/info.

Soldato
OP
The error is as the compiler says, the function signature takes 4 parameters , while your link shows 3, so you must be using a different version of the c standard library (likely some nasty windows version). You have given the function 5 parameters, with an additional int. You need to modify the code to sort your system, and lay attention to the compiler, it is usually quite helpful.