EeePC/wind/mini note - help

Associate
Hi people,

bit confused here, I'm trying to follow the ultra-portable story and I think it's all just moving a bit fast for me!!

Basically, I'm a student and have a PC I built last summer which is still going to be my main computer. I would like a laptop, however, to use for smaller tasks (word processing/web browsing), which I could take to the library/friend's flats etc. This range of Ultra-portable laptops, therefore seems to be perfect for what I'm looking for. I am not too concerned about price, I'm working over summer full time and could therefore stretch to around £700 max for my laptop, although saving some of that would be a massive benefit!

I run Vista 64bit on my PC and would like maximum continuity between the machines (if 'my documents' could syncronise when the laptp was docked I would be a very happy man!), so probably want XP (I'm guessing Vista on these type of laptops is pushing it a bit!).

As you can probably tell, I'm not completely up to date on these things, therefore any advice anyone could offer would be great!

(I'm not completely sold on this 'breed' of laptop yet, so advice/suggestions on more standard laptops is also welcome, although size will be a major factor in my decision!) - id like to be able to just use my 'rucksack' type bag I use for my uni work to transport it!

Again, any help would be briliant!

Cheers
Richy

EDIT: just thought of another possibility, I've always liked the IBM thinkpads, does anyone know a lot about these, will I get a decent for for around £600?

Last edited:
Associate
I'm in a similar position, but I've decided that the EEE 901 / 1000 is the one for me.

Basically, all it will be used for is word processing and programming whilst at college - so I don't see a need for all these extra features.

Plus it's small so easy to shove in my bag and take it with me.

Now if only they'd start selling the god damned things :mad:

Associate
OP