Elden Ring DLC crashes my PC

Associate
Hi,

I've had my PC working in it's current configuration for coming up to a year now and havent had any issues.

I started playing the Elden Ring DLC a few weeks ago and again, no issues until a week or so ago and now the game crashes my PC every 30mins-1 hour. It's quite random, sometimes it'll happen once then I'll reboot and it won't happen again all night. Other times it'll be every 10 minutes or so and I'll get annoyed and stop!

The crashes are abrupt, pc cuts completely, black screen - no BSOD or just the game crashing. I have to turn off the power for a minute or so before it'll reboot.

I've not really played any other games recently and I have no issues during normal use.

One thought I had when building the PC, which now has a 7900XT, a AMD 5800X plus a lot of fans / watercooling equipment, was that the PSU wasn't enouugh. It's a Phantek 750w 80 Plus Gold PSU.

I was going to replace it, but thought I'd see what happened. It's worked fine for a while, but maybe it's feeling the strain now? I don't know.

Any thoughts?

Man of Honour
was that the PSU wasn't enouugh. It's a Phantek 750w 80 Plus Gold PSU.
It should be enough, but one way to test if your PSU is tripping is to just downclock and/or power limit and/or frame cap your card. If reducing it by e.g. 30-40% stops the crashing then that could be a clue, unless e.g. it is related to temperature.

Associate
OP
It should be enough, but one way to test if your PSU is tripping is to just downclock and/or power limit and/or frame cap your card. If reducing it by e.g. 30-40% stops the crashing then that could be a clue, unless e.g. it is related to temperature.
Thanks.

Last night I played with the resolution down to 1080p and all the settings set to low, and low and behold had no issues whatsoever.