Electric wheel conversion

Soldato
Anyone done this?

Thinking of doing it on my commute bike. 700c wheels and discs.
Don't want eBay junk, with cables, switch, new levers and stuff all over the place.

Seen a few systems with everything in the bottle and then hub motor, that work with your pedaling.

What's good out there?

Man of Honour
I've converted at least 25 bikes with Yose Power gear - https://yosepower.com/collections/e-bike-conversion-kit.
These two are mine, one for summer and one for winter, the MTB has got spikes on the tyres for ice.
The top one is 700c.

TrekFX7.5.jpg

Trek4300.jpg

Last edited:
Soldato
OP
I found a company called 'bikeboost'
Their system looked good, until you read about water resistance and you can't ride it in the rain....!?!
Seems really stupid.

Associate
The swytch bike may be a good option, but I have no personal experience with them. They have good marketing so that could be a mark against them. Looks cleaner than a standard big battery version if that matters to you usb charging battery too very sleek.

Soldato
The swytch bike may be a good option, but I have no personal experience with them. They have good marketing so that could be a mark against them. Looks cleaner than a standard big battery version if that matters to you usb charging battery too very sleek.

We have 2 swytch kits and they haven't missed a beat in nearly 2 years, but they're the chunkier older battery versions.

Mileage is much better than the new ones though.

Man of Honour
Switch is quite expensive , £449 for a 15km range or £574 for 30k.
Using connersion kits like Yose Power you can pick a very large battery and it will still work out cheaper than Switch.
I've converted at least 25 bikes and both mine are still going since 2011.

Even Cyclotricity are cheaper with their huge battery conversion of 36v 19ah coming in at £649.
That means on full assist you should get around 34 miles, on lower assists that gets way higher.

Last edited:
Soldato