1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Everything You need to Know AMD & NVIDIA

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by smogsy, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,640

    Location: @ManCave

    updated a little man this long hard work :D
     
  2. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 10,448

    Location: Ye Olde England

    I love how there's so much info about AMD but only 8 lines about Nvidia :p
     
  3. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,640

    Location: @ManCave

    im working on it look at it now :)

    im working & coding the page all in notepad++ :p
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
  4. tayto_0

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 18, 2011

    Posts: 683

    Location: The Doghouse

    Great post smogsy :) An ideal thread to direct the countless "which GPU posts?"

    The thread title should end with "but were afraid to ask" though :)
     
  5. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,262

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I think I would have preferred it if you had done two separate threads, one for AMD and one for NVidia with links to each other. This would have helped with stopping any potential AMD v NVidia debates.
     
  6. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 25,929

    Location: Dormanstown.

    I think this way's better, because in separate threads, you'd get fanboy galore, and you'd just have two threads of hyperbole.
     
  7. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,262

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I hope this thread does work, if done well it could be very useful to people.

    I also hope the Dons are also very strict in this thread to keep things in check. Is there anyway when the Dons delete posts that they can take the empty spaces with them as this rather spoils the look of a thread.
     
  8. arc@css

    Caporegime

    Joined: Nov 8, 2008

    Posts: 25,847

    Good idea.
     
  9. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,640

    Location: @ManCave

    fair big update, Working on Nvidia stuff now & also running Mutiple Video streams to learn things I may have missed

    lot of developer videos. as you can imagine this thread will take time so don't beat me for taking time doing the Nvidia or AMD sections ive probably put in 4 hours+ into this so far
     
  10. Avenged7Fold

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 12, 2012

    Posts: 11,413

    Location: Surrey

    Great idea for thread. Next time people bring up a 770 vs 280x or similar question, can just link this.

    xDMA deserves a mention in the Crossfire section.
     
  11. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,244

    Location: United Kingdom

  12. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 25,929

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
  13. AshenEdge

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 8, 2014

    Posts: 649

    Location: West Country

    Is it possible for this to be a beta version of a definitive thread? Once everyone has had their say and Smogsy has decided what's relevant, perhaps a new clean thread can take it's place? (hope this wouldn't make more work for you Smogsy:o feel free to tell me to keep my opinions to myself:p)
     
  14. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,640

    Location: @ManCave

  15. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,640

    Location: @ManCave

    you mean a copy/paste of the first post then close stickie it? not a bad idea at all :D
     
  16. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 25,929

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Some of it annoys me, but as I'm predominately an AMD owner, I see their stuff more.

    I bet tons of people are oblivious to the fact that bridgeless Crossfire isn't something new.

    It reminds me of Sony, they had motion sensors with Six Axis, but they made a new motion thing, it's like "Did you guys forget you already had that feature?!"
     
  17. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,244

    Location: United Kingdom

    It makes sense to have it bridgeless these days because of the increased pci-e bandwidth. 16GB of bandwidth on pci-e 2.0 x16 and 32GB for pci-3.0 x16, but only 900MB on a Xfire/SLI bridge.
     
  18. AshenEdge

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 8, 2014

    Posts: 649

    Location: West Country

    Pheeew !...I was about to put a sauce pan on my head to prepare for the fall out:D glad it's straight forward for you Smogsy:cool:
     
  19. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 25,929

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Which is ironic, given AMD's aversion to PCI-E 3.0 on their "flagship" AM3+ platform, which means it's Intel allowing them to do that :p

    So XDMA Crossfire on an AMD AM3+ set up has an instant disadvantage.

    It'd be interesting if someone did bridgeless Crossfire on a 7970 using PCI-E 3.0.
     
  20. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,244

    Location: United Kingdom

    I'm running on pci-e 2.0 x16 x16 and previously i was using x8 x8. I got a small boost in benchmarks (few hundred points in Valley) but theres not much difference. For the non benchmarker pci-e 2.0 is still up to the job.