Final Cut Pro X over iMovie?

Commissario
I use iMovie for simple video editing, I've got the hang of it for basic stuff and it works perfectly well for me.

I understand that the current version (10.3.2) is a massive improvement over the early version of Final Cut Pro X. I've got the opportunity to get it at a good price (via discounted gift cards) but wonder if it's worth doing. Is it a massive learning curve over using iMovie?

Thanks.

Soldato
I'm an editor, started out on FCP7, eventually moved onto Premiere. Did a freelance gig somewhere that had FCPX and it was a total nightmare for me, it totally changed the way I worked and took control away from me, the editor. It took a while to learn how to edit in it, but I'd never go back to it. It has been shunned by the majority of old school editors who have tried it, but I believe it's popular for people getting into basic editing. If you're just starting out and doing it for fun then it'll be fine, but if you're considering a career in editing then I'd look elsewhere.

Soldato
Never used iMovie, but love FCPX. The magnetic timeline just seems so logical to me. You'll need/want a plugin though for decent colour colour grading, and perhaps an external program for editing audio (if you need to), but then that's no different from Premier.

Should be worth a try anyway. You can export your projects from iMove to FCPX save you starting from scratch.

v0n

v0n

Soldato
You can get 30 day trial at http://www.apple.com/uk/final-cut-pro/trial/thankyou.html
Trial versions are always one version down from the retail (so 10.3.1) but it will give you very good idea where the £299 goes.