First motorbike gear check

Soldato
Hi all,

I've got my CBT booked in a week or so, and will likely then get a cheap used Yamaha YBR 125 to run for a period of time. Although I'm tempted to go straight for my DAS.

Naturally I've started looking for some gear to wear. I'm not made of money, so looking at getting good value entry level stuff. I've specced up the following, which all seem quite reasonably priced but get good reviews.

Any thoughts at all? I'm a complete newbie at this so open to thoughts from more experience bikers.

VyXPwQ4.png

Thanks

Also, I know I have a massive head
I went into a shop and tried on a Large Shark helmet and it was way too small. I have to wear hats/helmets at work and they are sized 61-62 as well.

Last edited:
Associate
You might want to price up a matching pair of pants/jacket, as they're often designed to zip together to keep rain/wind out. I personally wouldn't wear mix n'match top/bottom in this weather :)

Soldato
Looks good to me - only input I'd have is maybe go for full length boots, as you likely get better protection form them; and I'd have concerns about water getting under your trousers with half boots like those - at least with full length boots, you can put hte trouser leg over the top of them.

Associate
As already mentioned, I would say try to get jacket and trousers from the same manufacturer so that they will zip together, and my preference would be full length boots as well

Helmet is a very personal choice, but make sure you try it on before you buy as you need to make sure it fits correctly

Soldato
OP
Yeah that shopping cart is sportsbikeshop, no idea why it has the MCN logo there, maybe they own them.

I've decided to hold off on ordering anything yet though, until I've done my CBT. Went to a local bike shop today and I couldn't believe how varied the sizing was between jackets, so I'm definitely going to pick something in store and then maybe order online if the price is better.

Man of Honour