first python program

Soldato
ok, well, I've done it, my first python program. I've been through the lessons on codeacademy, covers basics and functions. Normally I learn the basics and never use them, and then forget it. However I came up with a little fun idea at work after seeing something on facebook.

It was one of those images where the first and last letters of each word are the same but all the others are jumbled up. I thought it couldn't be that hard right? :rolleyes:

I've used 3.2 to do this with, first time I've used it and took some getting used to the tiny changes.

Things to note: this is a first draft, still has some things I want to work out like making sure the jumbled word isn't the same as the word that was input. I know there will be better ways of doing this, purely because a) I'm new to it and b) I've not covered a lot of this so had to google a lot and figure out what the hell it was about :D

Code:
# This software will take a sentence, leave the first and last letters the same
# but jumble up the rest.  It will then print the word like this:  "pirnt" (print)
# TO DO:
# wordJumble needs to make sure the output isn't the same as the input.

import random

def wordJumble(word): # jumbles a word
    if len(word) <= 2:
        return word
    else:
        rest = word[1:-1]
        restLen = len(rest)
        jumbled = random.sample(rest,restLen)
        reentry = (''.join(jumbled))
        complete = word[0] + reentry + word[-1]
        return complete

def complete(sentence):
    wordList = sentence.split()     # splits sentence in to a list
    listLength = len(wordList)      # finds the number of words in the list
    total = ""
    for word in wordList:
        total = total + " " + (wordJumble(word))
    return total