1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First time PC build help (£3000 budget)

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by Roxy8, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    That's great, thanks so much for your help.

    I have one last question, I was told Photoshop works best with 10bit display (something like that), does getting a 4k monitor cover that?
     
  2. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    Only quadro cards from Nvidia work on True 10 bit panels . Careful when looking at 10 bit panels, most are 8+2 . 10 bit panels do cost quite a bit !
     
  3. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    Okay I see quadro isn't great for gaming. The 43 inch LG is 10bit (8bit + FRC)
     
  4. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    you'll be fine for standard gaming cards , cant remember if AMD vega/rx support 10 Bit like their and nvidia workstation cards. I think they do - believe Aorus was tooting that their new monitor is fully 10 bit (1440p though)
     
  5. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    Got a lot to consider in regard to the monitor now lol. Is it possible to run a Quadro card alongside the rtx card?
     
  6. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    In theory , you should be able to set in device manager which one will display output etc .

    Shame, believe the old titan cards covered this grew area being best of both workstation and gaming but lost its way :(

    Most 4k 10bit display are about £800+ from memory . Benq probstuff is INSANE, covering 100% Adobe scale etc
     
  7. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    That is a shame but I'm hoping down the line I can add a Quadro for now the rtx 2080ti will be more than sufficient.

    Hmm I'll have a look at Benq. I took a look at the predator and it's so much more expensive for a smaller display size.
     
  8. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    BenQ pro series are beast of a monitor !

    You can get good G-sync/non G-sync monitors that are 8+2 bit panels with high Adobe coverage mind
     
  9. Parkinson1NX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 16, 2015

    Posts: 227

    Location: Norfolk, ENG

    I’ve ran AIO for the last 5 years and never had a single issue. Don’t be put off by what is referred to as water cooling. They are fantastic, easy to use, install and no maintenance. My H110i from Corsair has been going strong on my 5820k @ 4.5Ghz for a good 3 years now. Not a single hiccup. Bearing that in mind it’s also what helped me make my decision for getting the new H150i from Corsair for my new build.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  10. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    Cut the tubes open and have a look at the liquid and coppee plate . Will be interesting how the cooper and aluminium have faired after that amount of time
     
  11. Parkinson1NX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 16, 2015

    Posts: 227

    Location: Norfolk, ENG

    It's still in use :p would make it very interesting. When I do finish with it I will by all means delve into it.
     
  12. lee32uk

    Underboss

    Joined: Nov 9, 2005

    Posts: 9,175

    Location: manchester,uk

    Cheaper to watch someone else do it :D

     
  13. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    Is it possible to get a monitor that's great for both gaming and Photoshop/artwork or will I be sacrificing a little on gaming if the monitor doesn't have g sync or freesync?
     
  14. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    Glad you said that I'm having to convince the person that will help me build that they're fine. After 3 years would you say I need to replace the AIO with a newer one?
     
  15. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    You'll have to look closely at specs , brightness and RGB scale /Adobe % scale
     
  16. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    Gotcha. There was a link here on Nvidia supporting freesyncs. Is there a way to tell which monitor is supported ? The link didn't specify.

    Also I've noticed the Team Group RAM is recommended a lot on here when it comes to build advice, if possible should I send back my Corsair vengence RGB in favour for it?
     
  17. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 12,216

    Only 14 models so far, and most 1080p or 1440p TN panels
     
  18. Parkinson1NX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 16, 2015

    Posts: 227

    Location: Norfolk, ENG

    my 3 year old one is still going strong. temps rise around 5/6c over that period.
     
  19. Roxy8

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 8, 2019

    Posts: 24

    That's good to know, thanks.

    This might be a silly question but I would like to buy some PSU cables to compliment the theme of my build. Do I need a specific PSU cable extension to go along with the PSU or are they all compatible?

    Getting the z390 aorus master tomorrow as recommended :)
     
  20. lee32uk

    Underboss

    Joined: Nov 9, 2005

    Posts: 9,175

    Location: manchester,uk


    Extension cables fit any psu as they just plug into the end of the existing cables. The downside is more overall cable length when you are doing cable management. Also if your case doesn't have a psu shroud then they don't look as nice as you can still see the existing cables coming out of the psu. The Fractal R6 has a psu shroud though if you are going with that case.


    The other more expensive option is to buy replacement braided cables which plug straight into the psu. With this you need the correct set as they are not cross compatible usually i.e Corsair cable set won't fit a Seasonic psu etc.