First tripod?

DHR

DHR

Soldato
I've got a Canon EOS-M that's been in a draw for an eternity, it's time to bring it back!

Wanting to do some photography and basic panning videos of projects around the house, so thinking a tripod would be a valuable asset to have at my disposal.

Happy to look at second hand units that potentially provide some add-on/modification facilities, but really don't want to be spending over £50 which seems a bit tight.

I'm completely new to them, so go easy, I'm a dope :D

The basic rule of buying a tripod is that you can pick any two of light, sturdy and cheap.
I can't help with specific models as I value the first two more than the third. Try asking in the Wanted section of the MM and see what you're offered.

My ex bought me some cheapo one and I never understood it, it was just so odd :p (even a guy who ran a photography course I took thought it was strange).

Ended buying the Benro TSL08CN00 as my first 5 years ago, a carbon fibre one for not much over £100. Generally happy with it though I did seem to break one of the legs on a recent holiday (came out and I can't get it back in/it still do the telescopic thing) but still works at a shortened height.

Last edited:
Tripod is one of those things that if you buy right, you never have to buy again.

It is 100% true that you pick 2 out of 3 (Price, Weight, Sturdiness). If you spend more money, it can often offset the sturdiness somewhat. So my advice is place more weight on the price criteria, spend more, get the best one you can afford.

I still have my Manfrotto 055Pro (alu) with a basic pan and tilt head. Whilst it is heavy, it is also practically indestructible and what I take for jobs in the car. It can take the abuse, VERY sturdy, not worth that much used.

Last edited:
Tripod is one of those things that if you buy right, you never have to buy again.