1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fractal Design Define R6

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by southernorth, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. wgards

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 24, 2013

    Posts: 16

    Perfect. Found it.

    3 fans and his hottest drive was roughly <10 degrees above ambient, top closed.

    Little peeved at having to buy additional brackets but going to pull the trigger anyway ;)

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Mcthommo

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 28, 2015

    Posts: 402

    I use an 804 with 6 x 8TB ironwolf drives with no issues apart from cabling needs a bit a patience and 3 Sata power leads used
     
  3. wgards

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 24, 2013

    Posts: 16

    Are they secure with only two screws or did you have to modify the cage?

    I currently use the 304 and getting in and doing anything drive related is a pain. I can imagine the 804 is the same.
     
  4. Mcthommo

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 28, 2015

    Posts: 402

    2 screws are more than enough- no vibration or movement at all
     
  5. wgards

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 24, 2013

    Posts: 16

    That's good to know.

    Fractal responded to my email regarding the 804 brackets.

    They are willing to ship hdd adapters foc but was warned it could take up to 2 months. :eek:
     
  6. Esus

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 31, 2018

    Posts: 2

    Can someone please measure the psu shroud width?
    Just need to know if I can fit a mini-ITX mother board on top of that.

    This:
    [​IMG]

    I’m building a new pc for unRaid (NAS/Plex server), windows VM (gaming) and macOS VM (day use). My plan is to build everything in the R6 so I got 2 ideas:

    1) Threadripper build with GPU passthrouth and VMs (my initial plan)
    2) 2 pcs in the same case. Using mini-ITX motherboards (1 running unRaid with pcie SATA controller and 1 running windows/mac with dedicated GPU)

    Many people say not to do NAS and gaming on the same system because of instability and power consumption (would be running 24/7), that’s what got me thinking about the second plan (could turn the windows one off when not in use), but I still need to figure out how to adjust pwm case fans to fallow the load of the 2 boards.
     
  7. Esus

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 31, 2018

    Posts: 2

    Solved... 17,5cm (7in)
     
  8. robin66

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 13, 2004

    Posts: 2,023

    How is the build quality on this case as compared to something like the Corsair cases?

    My current case is the Corsair 450D.
     
  9. Parsley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 7, 2003

    Posts: 1,530

    Location: Nott'm

    Very happy with the build quality of mine. The only complaint I have, and it's very slight, is the top dust filter panel is slightly awkward to put back in as it lifts at either end as you push it down. But it's still easy to put back.

    I suggest you look at Gamers Nexus review of it on youtube, it's quite thorough.

    Coming from my old Silverstone FT02, a very well built tank of a case, I was just as happy with this.
     
  10. robin66

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 13, 2004

    Posts: 2,023

    It sounds like it is a lot better built than my Corsair case then.

    I just find that this Corsair case doesn't feel that solid when I move it around when I'm cleaning it.
     
  11. sparkymark75

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 2,338

    Location: Scotland

    Has anyone fitted a 240mm radiator to the bottom of this case?

    I've got 2 x 240mm AIOs. One for the CPU and one for the GPU. The pipes for the GPU AIO aren't very long so I'm limited to mounting it in the top or the bottom of the case. I'd prefer to mount in the bottom of the case but it doesn't seem to fit because of the PSU. The manual suggests you can fit a 240mm radiator in the bottom but not sure how you can with the PSU there.
     
  12. Parsley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 7, 2003

    Posts: 1,530

    Location: Nott'm

    You can fit a 240mm but you need a physically small power supply. I have a long 1300w Antec PSU and a 140mm rad infront of it. It only just fits. When you consider the amount of space you need for the cables to connect to, and come out of the power supply, you're talking at least 3-4cm extra to allow the cables to come out and bend off to whichever direction you want them to go in.

    A 240 is considerably longer than the 140 I have, obviously, so if you have a normally sized PSU I think you may be out of luck unfortunately.
     
  13. sparkymark75

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 2,338

    Location: Scotland

    Yeah I kinda figured that was the case as I was struggling to get it to fit because of the cables. I ended up sticking the 240mm GPU radiator at the top of the case.
     
  14. jdj9

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 5, 2015

    Posts: 2

    I almost bought the case until i saw that....

    Dust is quite a major factor for me. Its a pity cause this case ticked all boxes.... almost... =/
     
  15. dannywaugh1

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 21, 2007

    Posts: 709

    Location: Newcastle upon tyne

    Hi all, anyone know if using a front 360 aio e.g corsair can you still use the dvd drive?
     
  16. L85A2

    Associate

    Joined: May 29, 2019

    Posts: 26

    I've just got this case. I've switched it to the open position and I've been left with all the 3.5 hard drive cages I won't use. Is there are market for people buying these or shall I just add to the pile of junk gathering in my loft.
     
  17. khemist

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 9, 2006

    Posts: 4,744

    Location: Scotland

    Methanoid on here was looking for some but that was last year, maybe he can post here.
     
  18. snow patrol

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 3,735

    Location: London

    hi guys, planning a new rig for the summer (it's been ten years since i had a pc!). Is the fractal r6 worth the extra 50 quid over the corsair 275q? I like the minimal look of both. I'll probably be pairing with a next gen ryzen and a mid range gfx card. And 2 or 3 ssd's. I intended to order the case pretty soon..
     
  19. killem

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 3, 2010

    Posts: 337

    Can not comment on the corsair build quality but in 30+ years of building many computers for myself and others the R6 is probably the best all round case I have built a system into. Build quality is very high and layout makes working inside stress free. I have 2, one setup so I can use all the 3.5 drive bays as a file server and one as a gaming machine with that panel set to the back. Both machines are barely audible at idle.
     
  20. snow patrol

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 3,735

    Location: London

    that's good to hear, thank you. I think I'm leaning towards the R6...the reviews are extremely good all round it seems.