Gaming on OpenSUSE Leap 15.1

Soldato
I've been running OpenSUSE Leap 15.1 for a couple of days now, and it has been rock solid. Initially, I was going to use a virtual machine and run Windows 10 in it, but after thinking about it, I might try and game on Linux.

The only problem is that I've never gamed on Linux before so I'm a complete newbie. What I want to do is install Steam and then try out some of the games that have a Linux native port available. I can always screw around with Wine later to try and get Windows games working on OpenSUSE Leap 15.1, but for the moment I'll stick to games with a Linux port.

Permabanned
It's as easy as installing Steam through your package manager. Steam also has "Proton" for playing Windows only games on Linux. It's their own implementation of Wine (I think) with patches and stuff. So you really shouldn't need a stand alone install of wine unless you're using a game that can't be launched through Steam.

https://www.protondb.com/

The proton database lists games, how they perform on which distros and people can comment how to get around problems.

Edit: Forgot to add, you will need to choose which version of Proton to use in your steam settings... for example, I play L4D and L4D2 on Linux. L4D is a Windows only game. It won't run properly unless I'm using a specific proton version which has to be set in Steam settings. I'm not at home right now, or in front of my machine, so can't tell you which.

But the above is just to point out that when playing Window only games on Linux, you will probably have to do some tweaking to make them run right (similar story with Dawn Of War on my machine). The Linux ports of Valve games pretty much all run perfectly on my gaming machine.

Last edited:
Soldato
OP