GUIDE: Adblocker for IE8 (from adblock plus) (list updated regularly)

Associate
Joined
31 Jul 2009
Posts
2,224
Location
127.0.0.1
Update: This filter is fully compatible with IE9 beta

Not many people know this but IE8 has very powerful built-in Adblocking capability. It is called InPrivate Filtering. It can detect and block ads by itself but you can also add a list of items to block.

I have created such a list from the fanboy adblock list (http://www.fanboy.co.nz/adblock) that firefox uses and would like to share it with everyone and also a guide on how to use it for those who don't know. The list will also be updated regularly.
If you already know what to do and just want the latest filter list, the link is in my second post :http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?p=16784084

There are 2 steps to setting it up:

1. Enable InPrivate filtering

2. Import the filter list


Step 1:

InPrivate filtering isn't enabled by default so It needs to be enabled first.

1. Open Internet explorer 8

2. Under the safety tab, tick 'Inprivate Filtering'. If its the first time, there will be a popup message click 'block for me'

72454524.png



3. Download and extract one of the following files:

-For IE8: http://cid-83edeb637d37824c.office....ers for IE8/InPrivate Filtering Always on.zip
-For IE9: http://cid-83edeb637d37824c.office....for IE8/InPrivate Filtering Always on IE9.zip

It contains a file enables InPrivate filtering automatically. It cannot harm your computer in any way.

4. Double click the extracted file and select yes/ok when prompted to do so. And its done.

39539125.png




Step 2:

1. Download and extract the latest filter list from: http://cid-83edeb637d37824c.office....Adblock filters for IE8/filter 2011-01-09.zip

2. Open IE8, Click the safety tab again, and click Inprivate Filtering settings. This time click Advanced settings

46011623.png


3. Under Advanced settings, click Import and browse to the location where you stored the extracted files. And select the one that begins with 'filter...' and open it.

16488902.png



4. You should now see the filter list loaded. Thats all. I update the filter once a week on usually on saturday

14553961.png



Note: if you have more than one user account, you need to do this for each user account

If you find things that should be blocked and aren't or things that shouldn't be blocked that are blocked, please let me know.
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Jul 2009
Posts
2,224
Location
127.0.0.1
I would like to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU to SiriusB for saving me from having to copy 10000+ entries each time I updated the filter :)

This filter has been tested and is fully compatible with IE9 beta

Please remember to delete the old filter before importing the new one

Latest filter - updated 2011-01-09: http://cid-83edeb637d37824c.office....Adblock filters for IE8/filter 2011-01-09.zip

To enable inprivate filtering by default in IE9, please extract and run this: http://cid-83edeb637d37824c.office....for IE8/InPrivate Filtering Always on IE9.zip
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2003
Posts
10,916
Location
London
So you have to update the filter manually?

That's a chore, and people will inevitably forget. I'm not sure I see the point when Firefox and Chrome have adblockers which automatically update.
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Dec 2002
Posts
23,255
Location
In a cowfield, London, UK
Well Google Calendar for starters just displays a message stating it is unavailable for use and for me to check my browser settings. Google mail does the same. Google maps just displays a script has stopped working dialogue box, which baffles me.

www.anandtech.com doesn't render correctly, and many sites are the same. Everyone around our office seem to be having the same issues. Some have taken to running portable FF off a usb stick lol
 
Soldato
Joined
31 May 2009
Posts
21,257
How very odd, gmail works fine here, as does anandtech.com, just jumped there to try it out, and all seems to render perfectly well.
What else is installed on your machine? Have you an actual version of java installed?
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Dec 2002
Posts
23,255
Location
In a cowfield, London, UK
It's a work pc, some cripped HP Pentium 4 thing running XP :/ No idea if Java is on it because it is locked down heavily by our IS department. Very irritating using the web after using FF for many, many years. The amount of ads out there is just horrendous.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Jul 2009
Posts
2,224
Location
127.0.0.1
So you have to update the filter manually?

That's a chore, and people will inevitably forget. I'm not sure I see the point when Firefox and Chrome have adblockers which automatically update.

I dont update it myself, all I do is take the adblock plus one and convert it to xml format which can be used by IE8. and that only takes 30 secs.

I can use firefox or chrome but i prefer IE8 :p
 
Associate
Joined
8 Jan 2009
Posts
1,492
Location
Northern Ireland
It's a work pc, some cripped HP Pentium 4 thing running XP :/ No idea if Java is on it because it is locked down heavily by our IS department. Very irritating using the web after using FF for many, many years. The amount of ads out there is just horrendous.


Just thinking, there may be a conflict of interest with the MOD own security software. I have never worked for them, but being a government department, there bound to have some sort of security firewall. As for that web address and Google, I had no problems viewing my gmail or viewing that web page.:D
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jan 2007
Posts
8,944
Location
Manchester
Heavily locked down yet can run executables off USB sticks?

If I had to take a wild guess with very little facts I would say FF is going around a proxy (which may be causing the issues with IE8, because websites render fine for me)

Anyway nice work Temi_D
 
Back
Top Bottom