hardware explained? software suggested!

Associate
h.t.p.c software and remote compatibility

ok im going to build a htpc for basic video and music use i whant to be able to watch films in all formats (divx/xvid/avi are my preferred formats but i will beusing mpeg video file in dvd format and vob/sub files to im not worried about video conversion or editing i also whant freeview television on my sytem with easo of use.
ok what i need to know, i have never used a remote in windows before how do these work? can they replace the basic navigation and and uses of a keyboard and mouse ie: can i move through 3rd party programs with a xp media centre specific remote ,up ,down ,left ,right ,enter etc so i know the remote will be usefull for any media software i install.
secondly the software i dont really whant to use winxp media edition i love the look and feel of meedio but when i used the pro triel i couldnt find anything for tv viewing and when i tryed to open an xvid/divx video file it had to use a external player to do so then i had to maximize the screen size myself to fit the tele this is no good.
i whant all my playback needs to be taken care of by a single software with the feel of a meedio type program.
also i would like this program to launch of its own accord as soon as windows is started how hard is this to do? and do i need a certain type of software to do it.
so if you could leave your views and opinions on software ,you find usefull about them and what are there drawback if any and is it enugh to warant not using that particular software. thnx

Last edited:
Soldato
comradpoplin! said:
ok im going to build a htpc for basic video and music use i whant to be able to watch films in all formats (divx/xvid/avi are my preferred formats but i will beusing mpeg video file in dvd format and vob/sub files to im not worried about video conversion or editing i also whant freeview television on my sytem with easo of use.