[HELP] Building 1st PC

Associate
Hello.

I intend on building my own PC near Christmas time, and have come up with a spec that I like. I am not an expert, so I am not 100% sure if these parts will be compatible and/or safe together so I hope that someone will be able to tell me. The parts are as follows:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLAPL
GEIL 4GB DDR2 800 CL5 DC BLACK DRAGON *****************
Gigabyte GeForce GTS 250 PCI E Graphics Card *****************
WD HD SERIAL 500GB UDMA 300 7200RPM *****************
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64 *****************
T/TAKE CASE LANBOX LITE VF6000BNS BLK *****************
SC-148 CD Drive *****************
GA-73PVM-S2 Motherboard http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2734

As you may have noticed, I haven't included a PSU. If all these parts are OK together please reccomend me a PSU that is safe and/or compatible with the selected parts (bearing in mind I am on a tight budget).

Thanks in advance, Luke.

Linking to competitors is against the rules. Please make sure you read the FAQ - No promotion of OcUK's competitors section.

Associate
OP
You do see a lot of new accounts posting to other competitors early on in there thread count i wonder if they have a connection to the owner or just don't bother reading the rules :(

I just didn't read the rules, sorry.

Thanks for the help so far guys, my budget on a PSU is £50, but I would like it to be a little cheaper, as I don't need so much power for these parts do I?

My budget is £500 maximum, and my pc will be used for gaming mostly.

I WOULD like to keep the case I selected, as I will be using it for portability. Nobody has told me yet whether these parts are compatible (eg. will the motherboard and gfx card fit inside this case?)

Thanks

Last edited:
Associate
OP