Help me spec a media centre!!

Associate
Hi guys,

I've decided to get a new TV. i've got 1200-1300 to spend, and primarily i want a 32" LCD HDTV (im looking at the LG 32LX2R). i was hoping to get a pc to hook it upto, running XP MCE, but if i get that tv @ £999, ill only have 200-300 left. a backup option was one of those buffalo media thingies on the OCUK shop, but i dont know if these are any good.

Any suggestions on the best way to spend 1300 on a big as possible LCD HDTV and a PC to run the media. i wont be playing games on it, but i would like to run sky through it if possible, and use it as a recorder.

any help would be appriciated as i have no experience with media pc's at all.

Thanks

Associate
I know its not, but installing windows media center is not a hard thing to do, and get a usb tv tuner :)... wouldnt this give it the features as a media center

Caporegime
nyzrox said:
I know its not, but installing windows media center is not a hard thing to do, and get a usb tv tuner :)... wouldnt this give it the features as a media center

Installing windows media center on a MAC, Is a hard thing to do. It wouldnt have enough power to run the features anyway.

Soldato
Energize said:
Installing windows media center on a MAC, Is a hard thing to do. It wouldnt have enough power to run the features anyway.
It's not at all difficult, but it's a huge waste of time. There's no denying you spend over the odds to buy Apple hardware, so why go and make it a boring Windows computer? :p

You're going to struggle to build a reasonable computer, let alone one with PVR hardware (tuner(s), remote control, wireless keyboard?), for £300. You can, however, get something like a Humax PVR-9200T for £200. It's got two freeview tuners, 160GB storage (100 hours of television, according to Humax), PiP capabilities, the ability to play MP3s and view photos and a USB cable for connecting to a PC. I'm not sure about connecting it to a Sky box, but I'm sure it must be possible somehow :)