Help with new technology.

TGV

TGV

Associate
Hi – I’m a new guy here, so apologies if I’ve put this in the wrong place or made some other rookie mistake. Also, I'm sorry if you get a million of these requests every day.

I’ve been looking at a few forums online and this one looked like it had the potential for the best feedback because I’m looking for some advice. I should say that I may be a rookie here, but I’m not a beginner at building computers. I have built many machines for myself, family and friends over the years, but the last machine I built was about 10 years ago. It was then state of the art with a P4 3.0GHz processor, 200Gb HDD and a 512Mb graphics card. If you consider that the whole thing came to just over £1,000, you’ll realise how long ago that really was.

Anyway, my reason for appearing here was that in those 10 years, I’ve been married, had kids and all that kind of thing and I’ve just bought laptops because it’s suited what I needed. I’m thinking that now things have settled down, I feel like building a computer again to play games in my spare time.

I’m looking to build something that is competent with games, but not cutting edge and expensive. Something with enough grunt to keep me happy with decent frame rates of 24+ on 1920x1080 resolutions (on a single monitor, old fashioned 2D!). However, my problem is that since I last looked into what is available about 10 years ago, things have move on a lot. Processors have grown extra cores (yet clock speeds haven’t changed much at all), windows has developed another 32 bits, RAM is cheaper (per Mb/Gb) than ever and now one can have a HDD that doesn’t spin. These were all either unheard of or very rare when I last built a machine.