How do you code ??

• Thread starter Thread starter dal
  • Start date Start date

dal

dal

Associate
Hi all, I was just wondering when you guys have a project how do you go about coding. Do you put it all out on flow charts first then code from that or do you just basically start coding from scratch.
I've got a project of my own (coding a simple(ish) game) & I just started coding from scratch, which has been ok but now my project has got a bit more complex It's becoming quite time consuming putting things right when things don't work as intended.

I'm thinking I might be better off printing it out on a flow chart and re writing it (well some of it).

All design methodologies are about breaking down the problem into manageable chunks - where the chunk size is something you can keep in your head. Referring to a document is counter-productive as you lose the "flow" of coding. If you can't understand it, break it down more.

You then have a bunch of chunks that are inter-dependent. A bottom up approach is to build chunks that are not dependent on any others and then move to ones where the dependencies are already built. A top down is to build with assumptions of what the dependent chunks are going to do - and then make those chunks do what you assumed.

So for a typical web app, bottom up is the database bit first, top-down is the web gui first.

You can mix approaches. Some people do the "easy" bits first, some like to do the "hard" bits first.

All development is iterative. You will never have a chunk perfect before moving on to others. Accept this as part of nature.

External factors always play a part. Use "TODO" comments as place-holders when information is incomplete or known to be subject to change.